We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Hickory's Smokehouse
Ranked #25 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Nearest bus stop 300 yards
Description: Hickory’s Smokehouse is Chester’s authentic American BBQ. Here you can enjoy a traditional style of cooking that has its roots in the US, but that we think deserves to be just as popular over here. Our menu offers two styles of BBQ. The southern-style ‘Smoker’ BBQ uses slow, wood-fired cooking in our specially imported American smoker oven. The northern-style ‘Yankee’ BBQ is cooked over sizzling hot coals. Both styles create unbelievably tender, delicious meat and fish.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Enjoyed a very pleasant lunch here, mainly due to location professional friendly staff and style. The food is american diner/grill so large portions average in quality. Reasonable in a very stylish and buzzing restaurant. The little touches do make it special like the complimentary bottled water and popcorn to nibble. Great staff who are really attentive and prime location make this worth a visit when in Chester.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,263
    813
    268
    95
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really need to book a table!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you don't book a table you're in for a bit of a wait. The good thing is that they reserve a few tables for people who walk in. That said, the wait is worth it.
My brother and i stopped here after running the Chester marathon and even after that much exercise neither of us could finish the roadhouse burger (probably shouldn't have had a starter).
Looking forward to my next visit here as the atmosphere was nice and although we didn't have a drink in the bar it looked pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandMBrammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic staff and amazing food. We did have to wait a while for a table (just over an hour) but the bar was lovely. Once we got our food we were not dissapointed. We shared a platter between four adults to start and it was huge! We then had brilliant mains all of which came to a very reasonable total.

We would definitely recommended.


Ps the chefs table is pure entertainment as you get to watch the kitchen at work.

Helpful?
Thank Elise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited after reading all the glowing reviews on here - did not disappoint! We were greeted by a very friendly waitress who informed us it would be a 45 minute wait for a table inside or we could sit outside straightaway (they have a lovely set up with heat lamps and blankets in the outside are) and was even helpful enough to point out which table was warmest! We had pulled pork nachos to start which were everything you could want and then we both had the XXL burgers for main which were amazing. Would definitely recommend, my only tip would be to arrive early or reserve a table to avoid disappointment!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank frances506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“FOOOOOOD!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the third time I've been to this restaurant and it just gets better each time. There was a bit of a wait to be seated at a table but this was no problem as we treated ourselves to some lovely cocktails at the bar. When we were seated they brought over a bowl of popcorn which I think is a really fun alternative to bread. For mains I shared the platter with a friend. The meat was perfectly cooked and tender, I particularly loved the pulled pork and BBQ beans. For pudding I had the mud pie which was divine!! Overall the service was fantastic, atmosphere was great and we all had a really enjoyable evening. And this definitely won't be my last visit to Hickories!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hickory's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing