We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Hickory's Smokehouse
Ranked #27 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Nearest bus stop 300 yards
Description: Hickory’s Smokehouse is Chester’s authentic American BBQ. Here you can enjoy a traditional style of cooking that has its roots in the US, but that we think deserves to be just as popular over here. Our menu offers two styles of BBQ. The southern-style ‘Smoker’ BBQ uses slow, wood-fired cooking in our specially imported American smoker oven. The northern-style ‘Yankee’ BBQ is cooked over sizzling hot coals. Both styles create unbelievably tender, delicious meat and fish.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited here on Monday 7th Oct as a result of reviews on TA and we were not disappointed. Service was of a high standard, nice clean restaurant and food was tasty and plentiful and reasonable value for money. Had burnt ends to start which were superb and fajitas for main which were pretty good. Good kids menu too. Would recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank borlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,190
    791
    262
    94
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of my favoutite places to eat in chester and yet again it didnt let me down, food was delicious and the staff very friendly as always. cant wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PETE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH WALES
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One of my favourites!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is such a great restaurant. Fantastic vibe and excellent food! The only small gripe I have is that some of the staff are a little miserable but on the whole, they are very good.
If you want a taste of America in a relaxed atmosphere with a great view, this is the place for you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAMMIE-LEIGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos District, Cyprus
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best ribs I've ever had!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Oh my word, I am struggling to write a review without salivating at the thought of this fantastic food! We had a lovely boat trip down the River Dee and before we took the open topped bus tour we decided to stop for a bite of lunch.
The place was packed, and now I know why.....the food is superb. We sat at the chefs bar which suited us as it was in a quieter part of the busy restaurant. It was an insight watching the highly efficient chefs working as a team. We had ribs and burgers. The ribs were so tender, the meat fell off the bone. My husband had the burger and said it was one of the best he'd had.We also had a side of coleslaw which was deliciously creamy. Despite the place buzzing, and being incredibly busy, the waiting staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrinnyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“never fails !”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

always have a meal here when visiting chester, never fails to please ........ fabulous food (pigged out i'm afraid) good service, lovely setting, great place for people watching too ! reasonable prices cant ask for anything more from a restaurant. looking forward to next time already !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val_steve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hickory's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing