We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”

Hickory's Smokehouse
Ranked #26 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Nearest bus stop 300 yards
Description: Hickory’s Smokehouse is Chester’s authentic American BBQ. Here you can enjoy a traditional style of cooking that has its roots in the US, but that we think deserves to be just as popular over here. Our menu offers two styles of BBQ. The southern-style ‘Smoker’ BBQ uses slow, wood-fired cooking in our specially imported American smoker oven. The northern-style ‘Yankee’ BBQ is cooked over sizzling hot coals. Both styles create unbelievably tender, delicious meat and fish.
Level Contributor
217 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

7 of us went for a meal after work on Friday. We'd messed them around with the table so much, I was so grateful of their patience! Had nachos with pulled pork to start and hot & spicy chicken skewer for main, swapping the coleslaw for creamed corn. All of it was superb and the service as good as always. Lovely place. The ladies loo is ready for a touch of paint but it's not worthy of a reduced rating - the place is fantastic!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,195
    792
    262
    94
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wow what a great place, we just stumbled upon this place, there were 7 of us and we got the last table before they started turning people away. the menu was very substantial and we all found something we liked. The drinks menu was amazing, you must try the vanilla cream soda, it was like liquid ice cream!!

Service was good and all staff were very friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodieh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We have been here a few times we went to Florida in February and we missed the American food so we thought we'd go here it was amazing we went a bit mad nearly ordering everything from the menu but we managed ok the red eye chilli is amazing ! We went again for breakfast and had big American breakfast it's so big you could probably share it . We went in August it was still wonderful and if your to full for desert but still want one then have the marshmallows you toast them over a small pot with a flame brilliant. It is quite expensive but for a special occasion it's great and the food is so good you don't mind paying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Name80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good all round place”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice atmosphere and good food. Have been many times, for lunch, dinner and breakfast. The American breakfast is huge!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank wellnevermindme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Decided to return as the first visit was so lovely. We went there at 4:30pm on a Friday afternoon to book a table for later on but we were told that they were fully booked for the evening (Book in advance if you can - popular place on a weekend) however they kept some tables free for "walk ins" so we were told to come back at 5:30, which we did and got a table.
The ribs are amazing here (and lots of it) highly recommend if you like Southern American food.
The only downside was that we felt a bit rushed, (our fault for not booking in advance) and the waitress not very welcoming. Doesn't cost anything to smile.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hickory's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing