We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I've ever stayed in, in the UK.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
Ranked #11 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The worst hotel I've ever stayed in, in the UK.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Do not stay here! No heat, I froze. Only heat was a small fan heater. Windows had holes in them. There was no cover on the duvet which was dirty. The room, hallway and shared bathroom were also dirty and seemed like a construction site! I was supposed to stay 2 nights but left for the hostel which was cleaner, warmer and cheaper. Place should be condemned by health and safety. This hotel should not be rated 2 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlm512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    10
    13
    18
See reviews for
10
45
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here for £80! for the night on 5 December, there was no heating in the room or the bathroom although the radiators look to be new the heating wasn't turned on the whole of our visit. We were provided with a fan heater, whish we left on while we were out but the electricity had tripped and consequently it went off as did all the lights that were in the plug sockets. The room was reasonable but not very clean on the top floor but you had to hold your breath as there was a horrible sickly smell on the stairs. The location is very good and the continental breakfast was quite nice but for £80 I expect heat and a deacent sized TV 14" wall mounted and no hair dryer or complimentary toiletries Travelodge is better value, at least they are warm.

Room Tip: If you really must stay (as there is no where else) take a hotwater bottle & heater and request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoodlesSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Such a great location, pity it is let down by its interior. I understand the building is listed, it looks lovely from the outside but inside is a different story.
The central heating wasn't working, although there was an electric heater in the bedroom. The decoration is very dated, our "ensuite" room had a very uncomfortable mattress, mildew on the bathroom blind and walls,the towels were so thin that one actually came with a large hole in it! Tea/coffee making equipment was provided in the room but the cups had the lipstick marks of the previous occupant on them.The lights in the corridor outside our room weren't working and there weren't any emergency evacuation details, even the emergency exit sign wasn't illuminated!
"Continental" breakfast was included in the package, which consisted of yogurts, fruit, cereal and toast with jam/marmalade and tea/coffee and orange juice.
The hotel is very near The University of Chester and there were lots of young people walking past in the early hour of the morning making lots of noise, the room we were given didn't have double glazed windows, in fact the sash cords and the fastenings on the window were broken
All in all a very unpleasant experience. There are much better hotels/ B&B for around the same price

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in a triple room with 2 friends. It was a filthy room, tv and wifi and heating did not work. The springs in all 3 mattresses stuck out and dug into us all night. Bedroom and bathroom both filthy and had not been cleaned adequately. Our bedroom window was only single glazed and had a big hole in one window so the wind blew in all night. Freezing and very very noisy as overlooked the main street of Chester, all you can hear is drunks shouting all night. May actually be the worst place I have ever stayed. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very basic hotel accommodation. I was in the triple room with friends and the beds were very uncomfortable so if you have a bad back I wouldn't recommend staying here. The bathroom was clean and the shower was great but it was a shared bathroom between all the rooms which didn't bother me and was not a problem as the hotel wasn't full. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Right in the middle of the city, it was a great place to stay as we had been out in town and could walk back to our accommodation at any time. Also there is ample parking at the rear which was very useful.

Room Tip: Get a room in the middle of the building as we were in a room on the corner with lots of windows nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stopped here one night having a family room and a single room. The family room that was described as suitable for 2 adults and 2 children when we booked had a double bed and one single bed. I'm not sure how 4 people are supposed to fit in. The bar area downstairs was quite nice and the free parking at the rear was a bonus too.
The rooms were very shabby and not very clean. There was a large clump of someone's hair in the sink in our family room which was not nice. Very dusty in both rooms. The bed in the single room was possibly the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on. I could feel every spring. The hotel is located in the centre and there was a lot of noise from late night revelers outside. The noise was made worse because the window frames in the bedrooms were so rotten that I'm surprised the glass stayed in place. That added with the fact it was not double glazed made the outside noise even louder.
The hotel also advertises free WI-Fi in all areas. This did not work in either of our rooms so was a waste of time.
The breakfast was woeful, just a handful of cereals in tupperware boxes, a few croissants and some pots of yoghurt. No hot food at all. There was toast.
The elderly lady who was serving breakfast needs some customer service training as all she did was loudly moan about the fact there were several families having breakfast at the start time of 7am. It was the Chester marathon weekend hence why a few of us were down early for breakfast. She actually said that she'd be glad when it was over. Nice to feel welcome I don't think.
After finishing breakfast I asked the same lady where I needed to hand the keys in from the rooms, only to be told "just put them on the table". There was no "did you have a nice stay" or "was everything ok for you".
Needless to say, I will not be bringing my family to this hotel again in the future and will look elsewehere when visiting Chester which incidentally is a lovely City.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel/guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mold
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having looked at reviews of this hotel I was a little optermistic.how wrong can people be room was fantastic.staffbrilliant dave the manager was brilliant thanks very much .iwould recomend the four poster room

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull and Stirrup Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull and Stirrup Hotel

Property: The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
Address: 8 Upper Northgate Street, Chester CH1 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the mid-nineteenth century, this ideally placed hotel and pub is situated just 50 metres from the Roman Wall. A minutes walk away you'll find Chester's vibrant City Centre that provides a wide selection of bars, restaurants and shops to suit all tastes. Additionally, we are just a 5 minute walk from the Chester Race Course providing the perfect place to stay for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bull and Stirrup Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing