We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what a bed and breakfast should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was a bit dubious about staying here after reading the trip advisor reviews. But upon staying here I was overjoyed! My room was clean, very homely and I had been informed that they had been painted very recently. It really is a beautiful building, the staff were lovely so helpful, a lovely girl helped me sort out my hairdressers appointment and walked me to the venue when she finished her shift to show me where it was!!! but this is a b&b not the ritz! My room was £65and I believe I received value for money plus much more! Homely, helpful, enjoyable and happy to stay again! x

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,233,567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 160 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

i have stayed here before and was glad to see that the services were better than the time before. we were happily greeted upon arrival and our bags taken up to our room while we had a drink in the bar. We then went to our room which was very clean and airy.
After settling in we were advised by the very polite bar man of local bars and clubs to visit during our stay.. after a great night out we came back to a warm comfortable bed.
in the morning we had a continental breakfast with the house keeper. A lovely lady who served us with coffee and toast, fruit and yogurts. After a day of sightseeing we went out again :-) and came back for some late night drinks in the pub.
overall a lovely weekend and very pleasant staff and experience.
will definately come back again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The beds were clean, thankfully, but the decor was very tired. A coat of paint would have made such a difference. Also the shower didn't work which means that no-one had checked it. At £64 for bed and Continental breakfast, we could say that it was cheap, however, we also noticed (too late) that the Travelodge were offering rooms for £40 and Best Western were offering £100 off that night. The moral of the story is do your research first.
Generally there was an air of tiredness about the pub. Victorian and outdated and with so many excellent alternatives I wouldn't think that it has a long future. Since we are not fans of continental breakfasts in the UK we went for a full English at a local pub.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonycaegarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

OK It's cheap but the least you would expect was that it would be clean. No!! We were shown to our room which slept three. The spare duvets on the beds were dirty and stained and we put those out of site in the wardrobe. There were no carpets on the floor and our feet were sticking to it and the place was thick with dust. We didn't dare risk using the tea/coffee supplied. The bathroom was full of all mod cons ie a soap dispenser with watered down soap and 'cardboard' towels. I did enquire about another room but was told they were all the same and it was a listed building so they couldn't do any improvements. The breakfast was a selection of cereals, yogurts and toast - like it or lump it. At least everything (apart from the toast) was in sealed packets. The only good thing I can say is that the staff were friendly and the lady who served the breakfast was very helpful.

Room Tip: Have a good drink before you go to bed and drift off into oblivion. Well if you can with the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well where do I start..............................Booked through Late Rooms, when we arrived at hotel 2 lads on the bar said hello as we entered then left us standing there................................ Eventually one came over and asked where we ok, we said we had a triple room booked. Having checked a large open book our reservation could not be found................................ The guy then handed us a key to a room up in the gods!!!!!! A very shabby and cold room but hey at least we had somewhere to sleep that night............................................ On leaving for our night out we asked about returning and times and were told there would be a mobile number on the door which we were to ring and a guy would let us in. No matter what time we returned......................

Well at 3am we returned after a great night out to find the doors locked but just like the guy said a name and number was on the door for us to contact them, after a few times of trying a male answered the phone but sounded very drunk, he then hung up on us. We tried ringing again numerous times to get an engaged tone. After half an hour he finally asnwered again but still slurred speach he didn't know what we were saying. We then texted this number and explained we needed to get into the hotel as we had a room there. This went on for a further 2 hours!!! Not the best situation on a cold November evening!!!!!!!!

Eventually we arranged for a taxi to take us home to Runcorn £30 cost!!!!


Next morning we arranged a lift back to the hotel to collect our belongings and speak to the manager. On the way there I received a call from a lady asking would we be ready to vacate the room by 10:30am!!!!!!! As you can imagine I was fumming at this point. I explained to the lady bout the night before and asked could I speak to the manager but he was in the shower could not come to the phone.

On arriving at the hotel a guy asked were we ok, on approaching this guy he smelt of stale alcohol, eyes bloodshot and watery basically a guy with a hangover!!!!!!! I asked who he was he said the manager. When I started to explain about the previous night his phrase was 'Oh Right' 'I knew nothing about this' which was the whole of the conversation on his half!!!!!!

As you can imagine I was not in the best of moods as we were not getting anywhere, he did refund the taxi of £30 to us & as you can imagine the room was not paid for!!!!!!!

To add more fuel to the fire the back entrance was padlocked in the evening as we tried to get in that way but this was leading to a fire door!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Health & Safety?!?1!?!

Does make we wonder also why there was no member of staff on the premises?!?!?!?!

Well this is definatley a No No when choosing a hotel in Chester...........................................

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked in the bull and stirrup though laterooms .com. for two friends birthdays.
On arriving at the place we were told they had no rooms for us due to a double booking nightmare as we had been to go ape all day and were very tierd and dirty . The member of staff who was dealing with this however was very nice and helpful and tried to find us a room in another hotel unable to do this he said that he could give us this treble room and a single which he had booked for his mate but we could have it instead. He showed us up to our rooms which were very basic we did not have the single as the room was so cold that he gave us the mattress to have on the floor in the other room as there were four of us. The bathroom was shared it had no light as it did not work but they did have a candle in there for light (omg) the nob fell off the shower when i turned it on and the bolt fell off the door when we tryed to lock it. Also half the door frame was hanging off the bathroom door and what had fell off was placed upon the bathroom floor maybe they planed on sticking it back on with super glue lol. In the room itself the wardrobe door fell off and there was a hole in the window bare wires were showing near the light switch and as for the beds well they it was like sleeping on bare springs. The fire door which takes you down to the bar had a sign on it telling people that it would be locked at 11oclock (fire doors should not be locked at all ) The lady at breakfast was very nice but stressed due to people moaning which i can not blame them. So i would have to warn anyone thinking of booking this faulty towers place do not do it !!!!!! I would say it did not spoil our little trip but i would never forget it either .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently spent a night at this hotel. I would not recommend a visit. Firstly the booking was incorrect, the hotel and rooms were freezing cold. The bathroom light did not work, nor did the shower and all the fittings were crudely installed with no seals. there were no drinks available in the room, not even a glass to get a drink of water. The chest of drawers was missing its two back legs and was perched precariously on the skirting board. One of the windows had a whole in the leaded glass and there was no blind or curtains. Even thought it stated the pub closed at 11.30 very loud music continued until the early hours (this should have been stated). The next morning the whole place reeked of smoke and we found out from other guests that they had been outside for 3 hours trying to get in. the manager had left his mobile number taped to the front door advising to ring it and he would come back to let anyone in, however it did take 3 hours for him to turn up (drunk). this meant that there was no memeber of staff in the building whilst we slept. The next morning when we finally got him to come downstairs he denied having been out the night before. (Strange! he must sleep in halloween contact lenses and have a double who turn up drunk outside at 4.30 in the morning). One saving grace was that the lady serving breakfast was very kind and kept the toast coming. this is not an experience I would care to repeat.

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#38 of 45 in Chester
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull and Stirrup Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull and Stirrup Hotel

Address: 8 Upper Northgate Street, Chester CH1 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range: $76 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the mid-nineteenth century, this ideally placed hotel and pub is situated just 50 metres from the Roman Wall. A minutes walk away you'll find Chester's vibrant City Centre that provides a wide selection of bars, restaurants and shops to suit all tastes. Additionally, we are just a 5 minute walk from the Chester Race Course providing the perfect place to stay for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bull and Stirrup Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing