We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homely and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“homely and good value”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Obviously the new owners have a work in progress but I found the staff very hospitable and there was an extended family atmosphere. Bargain price at £25 for single room. Free parking onsite. There was traffic noise but what do you expect from a city centre hotel?!! Just over the road and you are inside the city walls.... ideal. Would certainly stay again. Comfy bed. All staff exceptionally friendly especially Beth who does the breakfasts, what a delight and what a gem.x. Thanks to the Bull and Stirrup for an enjoyable stay and good luck with the upgrading.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoutuout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    11
    13
    18
See reviews for
10
53
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having booked a room in July through late rooms . Com, when we arrived they did not have any record of our booking and the hotel was fully booked the member of staff dealing with us informed us that the room we had booked no longer existed and had not been available for the last 2 years (but was still on the website)the member of staff was very unhelpful and rude and only tried to find us an alliterative room when pressured an hour later he was still supposedly looking after the best part of 2 hours we left to try and sort a room ourselves by the time we had got sorted all the shops were shut some weekend away !
I would never recommend this hotel the staff were were rude and very unhelpful and service very poor (just like the family room we booked the customer service was not existent)

Room Tip: Don't book at the bull and stirrup Chester ! If you do just don't expect any customer servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel while enjoying a city break in Chester. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay and I couldn't ask for more. The hotel is a fantastic location for Chester's shopping, food and drink and night-life without being too noisy, the free parking is also a great benefit. The hotel room was of a great standard and very clean and I enjoyed the Continental breakfast.The bar downstairs is one of my favourites in Chester and must be visited. If you're looking for a great value hotel in Chester you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: The helpful staff will find you a great room for your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay here when attending Chester Races. The room was ideal and the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The bar was very smart and had excellent entertainment. Due to its City Centre location, i would recommend this to all. Perfect for a City break, or a City Shopping trip. I mustn't forget to mention FREE parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank src_pacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed her with my daughter for a birthday treat- staff were lovely and due to
Advertisement confusion (ie all rooms described as on-suite when not) we were swiftly moved to an on- suite room and I was given a lovely bottle of wine from Dave.
Unfortunately the building needs a good steam clean and lick of paint and due to building work on next room we found no hot water in the morning but that was rectified by afternoon.
Another unfortunate thing was the building being single glazed and drunken revelers returning to the local travel lodge like to sing at 4am in the morning or local ambulances sirens wake you up continuously during the night.
So bad points- bit dusty/needs steam clean, noisy and hot water issue.
Good points- next to Barr Walls, free parking, good continental breakfast, clean sheets and bedding and lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poggy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I booked this hotel on the basis of its city centre location and was not disappointed, it's slap bang in the middle of Chester city centre which was ideal for my business trip; the free car parking was also a bonus! The room was basic but was clean and more than satisfactory for my stay. The staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful regarding local information etc. I would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here recently, rooms were nice and clean, staff were very friendly and up for a laugh, Smart, cozy bar & snug area, good range of beers (Always a bonus). Hotel is an ideal location, as is only a 10 minute walk from the city centre. No noise from the nightlife when your trying to get some sleep. Even if you choose to stay at the hotel and have a few drinks, the staff and locals a very friendly, and you always receive a warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 44 in Chester
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull and Stirrup Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull and Stirrup Hotel

Property: The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
Address: 8 Upper Northgate Street, Chester CH1 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the mid-nineteenth century, this ideally placed hotel and pub is situated just 50 metres from the Roman Wall. A minutes walk away you'll find Chester's vibrant City Centre that provides a wide selection of bars, restaurants and shops to suit all tastes. Additionally, we are just a 5 minute walk from the Chester Race Course providing the perfect place to stay for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bull and Stirrup Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing