We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay for 2 nights”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #59 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“okay for 2 nights”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived before check-in time and left our bags with the manager. Came back to a very small room (fine for one person) that overlooked the main road. Noises were from the pub patrons gathering outside, not from the traffic. The room was clean, tv issues were addressed after one day, breakfast was fine, and the meals we had in the pub were good. The location is about a 5 minute walk to the city walls. Two nights here were okay, but I would look elsewhere for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    56
    27
    26
See reviews for
27
104
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here whilst umpiring cricket a Boughton Hall.
Friendly greeting and everything explained.
Room was small overlooking main road but reasonable secondary glazing kept out most if the noise.
Couldnt get the tv to work but not really bothered anyway.
Breakfast was fine, they would meet any request I expect.
Convenient for City Centre, about 5 minutes walk via an underpass.
All in all a basic but value for money hostelry which I would use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b16dnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned back from staying at this hotel with my fiancé and what can I say we didn't know what to really expect as there where different reviews good and bad. But we can say It was well worth the money, booking in was so easy and hassle free, staff very friendly, rooms small but clean and had everything that you needed.. Bar Excellent and very good prices on food and drinks, it was situated in a good location only 5 minutes walk to the town centre and 8 minutes drive to the zoo. We will defiantly return and will highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elblag, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

There was just nothing good about this place at all, you enter the hotel through a smelly arch, where the vent from the kitchen oozez congeled fat (If you smoke this is the place). The reception is a yea whatever, here is your key. The massive wallpapered soil pipe boxing you have to avoid halfway up the stairs accentuates the 1978 decor. The very small room had a bit of renovation in the shower cubicle, wet wall boards (only 10 years old) obviously stuck over where the tiles had fallen off (probably avocado), had managed to keep the same shower though which was the cheapest model when it was first installed, on...cold...ahhh...no where to go...please get warm soon, the cups, spoons and kettle enjoyed a good wash though and are still probably clean enough for you to use. To get round the bed you had to do a side ways shuffle on the sticky, soiled carpet as there's no room to walk. The poor old telly was on its last legs, but was being supported by its old friend the Betamax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dziky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great looking pub from the outside, great location for walking to town/cathedral/city walls etc. Free car park was handy. Typical brewery-owned pub with the standard menu & drinks offers. Rooms dated but clean - ok for one night. Lots of road noise (mainly sirens) but not too disruptive. Staff like robots - no sign of emotions. Long wait at reception. Breakfast not the best - tea served from a flask!!! Not much else to say really....has potential but is seriously lacking any kind of atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahkitten5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. First impression a bit run down looking. The passage from car park to reception is a smoking area - which is a bit off putting. But the en suite bedroom was spacious, spotless and well presented. It had a large sleigh bed with crisp fresh bedding and lovely white fluffy towels. The food was typical pub food, well presented and good value for money. The staff were very friendly and obliging a credit to their own hard work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Please don't stay here. I'm used to basic, ie travel lodge but not this. So small you couldn't move around the bed, a half broken TV. Dirty room, cigarettes dropped on carpet. Sweet rappers in drawer. Breakfast not great, not much choice if veggie.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonOiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#39 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#21 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#7 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ye Olde King's Head
Ye Olde King's Head
#4 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.6 mi away
Quarterz
Quarterz
#49 of 79 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Property: George & Dragon
Address: 1 Liverpool Road, Chester CH2 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the city centre, the George & Dragon offers excellent value accommodation with complimentary car parking. The rooms are above a pub that opens until 1am at weekends and feature a variety of entertainments. Pub food is also served. Rooms are reserved on a 'room only' basis and there are many local places to have breakfast. Satellite TV in the pub shows a variety of sporting events. The George & Dragon is in a fun lively location in which to base your stay. You can easily explore the city on foot. Located in the University part of the City, The pub attracts a young customer who enjoys the music and entertainment in the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon
George & Dragon Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing