We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like paying to live like a student”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #63 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Elblag, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like paying to live like a student”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

There was just nothing good about this place at all, you enter the hotel through a smelly arch, where the vent from the kitchen oozez congeled fat (If you smoke this is the place). The reception is a yea whatever, here is your key. The massive wallpapered soil pipe boxing you have to avoid halfway up the stairs accentuates the 1978 decor. The very small room had a bit of renovation in the shower cubicle, wet wall boards (only 10 years old) obviously stuck over where the tiles had fallen off (probably avocado), had managed to keep the same shower though which was the cheapest model when it was first installed, on...cold...ahhh...no where to go...please get warm soon, the cups, spoons and kettle enjoyed a good wash though and are still probably clean enough for you to use. To get round the bed you had to do a side ways shuffle on the sticky, soiled carpet as there's no room to walk. The poor old telly was on its last legs, but was being supported by its old friend the Betamax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dziky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    57
    27
    28
See reviews for
27
105
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great looking pub from the outside, great location for walking to town/cathedral/city walls etc. Free car park was handy. Typical brewery-owned pub with the standard menu & drinks offers. Rooms dated but clean - ok for one night. Lots of road noise (mainly sirens) but not too disruptive. Staff like robots - no sign of emotions. Long wait at reception. Breakfast not the best - tea served from a flask!!! Not much else to say really....has potential but is seriously lacking any kind of atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahkitten5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. First impression a bit run down looking. The passage from car park to reception is a smoking area - which is a bit off putting. But the en suite bedroom was spacious, spotless and well presented. It had a large sleigh bed with crisp fresh bedding and lovely white fluffy towels. The food was typical pub food, well presented and good value for money. The staff were very friendly and obliging a credit to their own hard work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Please don't stay here. I'm used to basic, ie travel lodge but not this. So small you couldn't move around the bed, a half broken TV. Dirty room, cigarettes dropped on carpet. Sweet rappers in drawer. Breakfast not great, not much choice if veggie.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonOiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

WALES
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed for one night whilst visiting my son.It was a single room and very compact.The decor could definitely do with updating and new carpets throughout would be an improvement..However the bedding and towels were pristine and the room clean.Breakfast was lovely and as I only paid £35 via Late Rooms I thought it was excellent value.A huge advantage is its proximity to Chester~ a lovely walk along the walls passing the Cathedral and you're in the centre within 10 mins.Also they have a free car park unlike some other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGHARRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Waited in reception for a good 10 minutes before being acknowledged and signing in. Carpets are tired and could do with up dating. No volume on tv so couldn't watch it at all. Then whilst trying to lie in after night on the town the plumbing started to make the loudest noise which went on and on and on. All in all a very average stay. The lady serving breakfast in the morning was very pleasant. Would come back but not my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixienoo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

on arrival it was what we expected not to busy although it was a Saturday afternoon we were there to enjoy ourselves we paid for a luxury suite which is what we got the furniture matching the age of the building the bed very comfy although the road was outside we slept like babies the food was very good and so was the drink the boys serving behind the bar and serving the food couldn't do enough for you we would definitely stay there again a nice walk into town and within walking distance of the racecourse. Annette and David
Swansea

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny and if on the south side are a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annettegriffiths1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.6 mi away
Quarterz
Quarterz
#53 of 79 in Chester
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.7 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#21 of 79 in Chester
236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Property: George & Dragon
Address: 1 Liverpool Road, Chester CH2 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the city centre, the George & Dragon offers excellent value accommodation with complimentary car parking. The rooms are above a pub that opens until 1am at weekends and feature a variety of entertainments. Pub food is also served. Rooms are reserved on a 'room only' basis and there are many local places to have breakfast. Satellite TV in the pub shows a variety of sporting events. The George & Dragon is in a fun lively location in which to base your stay. You can easily explore the city on foot. Located in the University part of the City, The pub attracts a young customer who enjoys the music and entertainment in the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon
George & Dragon Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing