We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury room?? shabby, broken tv and dvd player”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #64 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“luxury room?? shabby, broken tv and dvd player”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went for the luxury room at the George and dragon in the hope of having a chilled and relaxing romantic weekend away. The bed was nice, it was comfortable, but other than that there was nothing luxury about it! the 'large plasma tv' was small and would not work, so we tried the DVD player which appeared to have power, so we went out and brought a DVD to watch - but guess what? that didnt work either!
It was very hot and the windows were sealed shut which made it impossible to get any air, it made for a very uncomfortable night! It was noisy and there were lots of sirens during the night - but i accept this was not the fault of the hotel - although i'd bare it in mind if you are thinking of staying there.
When we were leaving i informed the lady on the bar about the dvd player and she seemed to know it didnt work - so why leave it there??!!
Overall the hotel was shabby and tired, nothing screamed luxury - would have been ok if we had paid significantly less and it was a one night stay while clubbing - but not the relaxing luxury break we hoped for!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    57
    27
    29
See reviews for
27
105
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redcar
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

my husband and i and my daughter and her husband recently spent 2 nights at the George and Dragon Pub .Chester.It was easy to find and there was a car park for our car.We checked in and found the rooms were clean and adequate for our needs. i felt that the hotel needed refurbishing but the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very nice. it was a fairly short walk into the city centre or you could get a taxi for £3. We spent a pleasant few hours at Chester Zoo which is well worth a visit.We had dinner out at Upstairs at the Grill which was excellant but quite expensive.on the saturday evening we went to a nice italian called Sergios which was excellant and half the price.Would probably stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedcarJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night and are glad we hadn't booked for a longer stay. The room we found to be dated and unclean. The carpet looked as though it had not been hoovered for a while. The tea and coffee making facilities were inadequate, the spoon had to be washed before use as this looked as though it had not been swapped for a clean one after the last use of the room. The shower was also far too hot to be used, we had to use a towel over our hand in order to turn this down to prevent scolding ourselves from the heat. There were dogs in the room above us which kept barking.
On a positive note the staff were inviting as we checked in and the hotel is in the perfect location for accessing the town centre.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

swansea
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week, for what we payed we shouldn't moan, the location is good, breakfast good full English, staff obliging, the bedroom basic with two steps down too the bed could be nasty if you decide too go too the loo in middle of night!! Because the bathroom is above the two steps, must say bed linen clean, the hotel could do with a makeover it's well overdue, as we only stayed one night it was ok for us wouldn't like too have stayed longer though.

Room Tip: Can't help there sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevada115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.w.england
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed for one night 13 may.Only a short walk to town,
Room was small but cleen and tidy.no channel 3 and 4 on tv for some reason,no bulb in bedside light, that apart it was ok.Breakfast good and staff were friendly.make a good base for a couple of days,and chester well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T.C.22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Althought the room was clean and tidy , the accomodation was not all that good . The staff were over worked as they seemed to be short staffed serving food as well as working behind the bar at the same time. You get what you pay for with the food too cheap and cheerful although apple pie was lovely . Then bed time came , i understand it was a pub and there would be music it did go off at 11.30 pm . Then early hours the managers dog decided to run around above us for about 15 minutes in time gaps of 10 -15 mins as you finally fell asleep in between this time was woken again by it jumping about and one point barking . it was about 1 - 2 in morning onwards and then again about 4am . i did complain to the manageress who said sorry you didnt get any sleep but my dog is usually quiet and some drunk was trying to get into my flat she was not at all sympathetic . it was worse as my boyfriend had half marathon in the morning.we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vee123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at approximately 12.45 pm on Bank Holiday Monday, 6 May 2013 and were greeted by what we thought was a member of staff but turned out to be a customer who has stayed at the hotel many times before. He pointed us in the right direction so that we could check in. We told the lad behind the bar that we weren't sure what time we could check in from and he said that we could check in straightaway but that the room might not be ready (as it wasn't) but we could put our bags straight in. We were grateful that we didn't have to wait to check in as we had arranged to meet friends that afternoon and weren't planning on being back too early. The bed was lovely and comfortable, as we had what they called the "posh" room, the one with the sleigh bed. The bathroom was clean but we did take our own towels as another reviewer had mentioned that the towels were tiny and he was right - they are the size I would wrap round my head. I also do agree that a bin would have been nice in the bedroom as well as the bathroom. The bath is huge and the water is VERY hot. We used the bath on one occasion as we were aching from the amount of walking we had done round Chester. The location is convenient and there was a reasonable size car park. We are not really breakfast people but we did go down the first morning and you could have whatever you wanted. We generally went out every day but we always finished off in the hotel bar for one drink before going up to bed and the staff were very friendly. I would recommend the hotel but mainly if you are going as a couple as it is over a pub.

Room Tip: Ask for room 30 - this is the one with the sleigh bed and it is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NolineSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
970 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.7 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#20 of 79 in Chester
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.9 mi away
Chester House Guest House
4.4 mi away
Trafford Hall
Trafford Hall
#1 of 1 in Wimbolds Trafford
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Property: George & Dragon
Address: 1 Liverpool Road, Chester CH2 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the city centre, the George & Dragon offers excellent value accommodation with complimentary car parking. The rooms are above a pub that opens until 1am at weekends and feature a variety of entertainments. Pub food is also served. Rooms are reserved on a 'room only' basis and there are many local places to have breakfast. Satellite TV in the pub shows a variety of sporting events. The George & Dragon is in a fun lively location in which to base your stay. You can easily explore the city on foot. Located in the University part of the City, The pub attracts a young customer who enjoys the music and entertainment in the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Hotel Chester
George And Dragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing