We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT DO IT UNLESS YOUR MAD”
Review of The Ormonde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ormonde
Ranked #38 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
warwickshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“DONT DO IT UNLESS YOUR MAD”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was booked for Chester Races......I have to say I have never ever in my life stayed anywhere as bad as this. Our twin bedroom - had nothing that matched - the curtain rail was falling off, the curtains would not draw, all in all - absolutely disgusting and filthy. The water in the shower was pouring out the back where the electrics were making it unsafe to use and the small bathroom was so filthy it made me feel sick to enter. Whilst the gentleman that run the b and b was really nice and polite its clear standards are so low, the place needs shutting down.

Room Tip: There are no rooms that would be worth recommending...they are all just as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 981tullia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    22
    16
    32
See reviews for
9
55
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

2 nights with the girls lots of laughs, drinking and shopping. hotel close to the train station and a 10 minute walk into town, hotel could do with a refurb a bit old fashioned, beds were very squeaky and old didnt get much sleep. didnt like how you had to make a cup of tea in the reception area and take it upstairs to your room. breakfast was nice but no choice and bathroom was clean with a good shower overall had a fab weekend the staff were all very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I must have been an idiot not to read these reviews before booking but I've never experienced such a vile and disgusting place and feel bad as I booked this for my friends and I and they had to suffer this horrendous experience too :-(

The location is about all it had got going for it and I think is why it's still open. Apparently it's fully booked too. Don't expect to get any sleep, we were woken up with folk trying to get in our room and what sounded like a door being smashed in somewhere within the place. The walls are so thin we could hear all sorts!!

Trying not to itch now on my way home..going to have a long soak in the bath too as I feel grubby and the shower was just disgusting. My partner wouldn't take his shoes off and walk on the carpet it was that bad :-(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Wrecsam, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed at The Ormonde for one night, it was one night too much! I have never stayed in such a place that I strongly recommend it gets closed down! Bathroom was vile, not clean at all, room was musty and to be honest I was scared to look under the bed! It felt like it was somewhere people released from jail go on release! And £40.00 a night? the owners should be locked up for charging that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

As stated great location close to town and train station, but the hotel needs lots of TLC walls need fixing, washrooms not good, no shampoo provided. Not overly clean, needs redecorating. But definately cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in June and were horrified with this place.

First of all, to stay somewhere for £40 per night our expectations were fairly low - but this place is going about daylight robbery. The place is pretty much a scam and don't be fooled into thinking that "you get what you pay for". Here, you do not. The place is so bad it should be closed down and should cost at best £10 a night for what you will experience.

A few lowlights for us

- dirty sheets
- dried diarrhoea on toilet and on bathroom walls
- litter and dirt under the beds, I didn't dare look more closely
- burnt out, dangerous plug sockets
- horrendous musty and mouldy smell
- uncomfortable beds with springs sticking in your back
- nasty dated decor

The staff seemed also to have worked out not to be on the scene in the morning. We were so appalled with the faeces splattered in the bathroom that we wanted our money back. But the staff were nowhere to be seen. The really worrying thing was that several "cleans" of the room had failed to pick up the crap in the bathroom.

This is truly the worst place we have ever stayed and we felt robbed.

I would give this NO STARS if that were possible and think it should be CLOSED DOWN.

I reiterate, plenty of places are cheap and cheerful. This is a downright rip off.

Please don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Rooms not up to much but adequate. Clean bed and room. Breakfast was fine although no choices given. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free parking and early check in a bonus. Could do with a woman's touch. Stayed here on race day so it was a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreww655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#39 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#44 of 44 in Chester
2.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#38 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bunkroom
The Bunkroom
#7 of 25 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.5 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormonde

Property: The Ormonde
Address: 126 Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Ormonde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing