We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced over rated”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed October 7, 2010

My wife and I spent a weekend at this hotel to celebrate my 65th birthday.we were expecting a wonderful experience afterbeing promised views of the racecourse or mountains of North Wales.Unfortunately we had a "desirable"room overlooking the main road into Chester and the music of the bar below until after midnight.The room was similar to a standard room in Premier Inn but at twice the price.There was no seating in the room apart from the bed and the dressing table.The bathroom ,however,was very nice but without a bath.Call me old fashioned but I do not expect a 12.5% service charge to be added to my restaurant bill and to have to request the removal of this charge because of the urgency in which our table was cleared to make way for the next customers.It might be a michael caines restaurant but to be charged £27.00 for a run of the mill steak was excessive.I will not be recommending this Hotel to anyone.Overpriced and over rated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
There are newer reviews for ABode Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,058 - 2,064 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

Amazing, modern, comfortable Hotel that went way above my expectations. Reception & Room Service staff were very friendly and helpfulI. We stayed in a desirable room and it was perfect - clean, spacious, satelite TV, and floor to celing windows with a beautiful view of Chester and the race course. The bed was HUGE and SO comfortable! The hotel is in a perfect location, with just a 5 minute walk into Chester town centre. We didn't try the bar or resteraunt so can't comment, although we had a late night room service snack which was tasty. Overall a fabulous hotel, more than impressed and wished we had sayed longer! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladeelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Be warned if you book a comfortable room they do not have a bath and are quite small rooms, the staff are lovely and very helpful.
Its not easy to find the car park and the hotel could do with informing customers of the procedure when they make a booking if they intend to use the car park...as we drove up and down the main road as you can't turn right into the car park from the direction they state you will be arriving. On arrival you have ot drive down a ramp which has a closed shuttr...you need to look out for the intercom that is not very easy to find andbuzz up to hotel reception for them to open the shutter...then you have to navigate your way around the car park to locate the spotsmarked with an H as if you dont you'll be parking on CHester council car parking spaces (and to find the spaces marked with an H is not that easy (we had to go and move our car once we had entered the recption of the hotel)

Probably would book to stay in the new premier inn in the town centre in chester, if you're looking for something modern, comfortable and at a reasonable cost.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank honestypays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The hotel is gorgeous. Its very modern and quite clean. The staff are lovely and helpful, and made our stay even better. The hotel is in a great location, just a 5 minute walk into Chester town centre. The breakfast was amazing, although i would say that the restaurant menu for evenings is a bit bizarre to say the least! The rooms are lovely (we were upgraded to an enviable room as it was our honeymoon), and we were really pleased with our room - the bed was huge & very comfy. Overall a fabulous hotel, very impressed, and would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAGGIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Comfortable hotel with nice restaurant....... the GF bar staff not very attentive!! its aimed more for the heavy chester drinkers I think!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here over the weeked for the races and absolutely loved it! We had the Ormonde suite, if you are booking a suite ask for this one as it's the only one that partly looks over the racecourse! The room was big and modern, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, large bath and seperate walk in shower. Breakfast was very good, with everything you could wish for...cereal, fruit, pastries, toast, and cooked breakfast, tea, coffee and a range of fruit juices. All of this was included in the suite price. We didn't eat there at night so can't comment on the food.
Only a couple of negatives, the first was the smell, we were a floor above the restaurant and could smell cooked food all day, which wasn't very pleasant and knocked me sick as I was also poorly for the stay. The second was that our room never got cleaned? We assume there is a service everyday and weren't too bothered but thought for the price, it should have been done?
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the location couldn't be beaten, close to shops, restaurants and next to the races, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed for one night in the Abode. The room was lovely , bed very comfortable, good view from the balcony and tolietries were great. The price was a last minute deal and it was OK for one night B+B plus evening meal. I would not have paid anymore for the hotel as although it is a lovely newly built hotel it was already in a few parts starting to have issues. The bathroom was not cleaned properly when we arrived. The food in the restaurant bar and grill was OK but nothing special. I have fedback to the hotel and I just hope they take the comments on board because it would be a shame to see reviews on here that start to say it has gone downhill. Would I retrun - yes if I got another last minute deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays_HappyTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $102 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing