We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here over the weeked for the races and absolutely loved it! We had the Ormonde suite, if you are booking a suite ask for this one as it's the only one that partly looks over the racecourse! The room was big and modern, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, large bath and seperate walk in shower. Breakfast was very good, with everything you could wish for...cereal, fruit, pastries, toast, and cooked breakfast, tea, coffee and a range of fruit juices. All of this was included in the suite price. We didn't eat there at night so can't comment on the food.
Only a couple of negatives, the first was the smell, we were a floor above the restaurant and could smell cooked food all day, which wasn't very pleasant and knocked me sick as I was also poorly for the stay. The second was that our room never got cleaned? We assume there is a service everyday and weren't too bothered but thought for the price, it should have been done?
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the location couldn't be beaten, close to shops, restaurants and next to the races, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    609
    276
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,236
38
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed for one night in the Abode. The room was lovely , bed very comfortable, good view from the balcony and tolietries were great. The price was a last minute deal and it was OK for one night B+B plus evening meal. I would not have paid anymore for the hotel as although it is a lovely newly built hotel it was already in a few parts starting to have issues. The bathroom was not cleaned properly when we arrived. The food in the restaurant bar and grill was OK but nothing special. I have fedback to the hotel and I just hope they take the comments on board because it would be a shame to see reviews on here that start to say it has gone downhill. Would I retrun - yes if I got another last minute deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays_HappyTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband booked a suite here as a surprise for my birthday on the 8th. On reading some reviews he rang ahead for instructions for getting into the underground car park,which we then found straight away and were let in by the receptionist. The lift was easy to find and we arrived at reception with no problem. Check in was straightforward and we took the lift straight up to "Fabulous on Sixth". The suite was probably the largest hotel room we have ever stayed in. It was quite simply stunning in every way. Dark wood panelled walls, floor to ceiling windows with a huge balcony with lovely views over the city, a beautiful roll top bath and separate wet room, massive leather sofa and a huge luxurious bed, and a great sound system with ipod dock, along with two flat screen tv's. My husband had booked us in for dinner in the restaurant on the fifth floor. We had cocktails in the bar before choosing the seven course tasting menu. We have stayed and dined at Abode Manchester three times and the standard of the food at Chester was equally as good. All the staff were polite and attentive and we were given a lovely table by the window overlooking the racecourse. I am sure we will have no problem staying in any of the rooms in this beautiful hotel in future and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Tried to call hotel night before to book – phone rang for 5 minutes but when it was eventually answered I was told to call them in the morning! It didn’t put us off and we booked on-line to stay one night.

Arrived at hotel and parked in the underground parking; was told to park in a space marked with an H and it well signed to get to hotel reception. We’d booked a Desirable room; the hotel was very clean, the hotel was very contemporary and modern. The room itself was lovely and spacious with a large bathroom and good views over Chester racecourse. The bed was the most comfortable bed I slept on but the down side was it felt like my head was slightly lower than my legs and woke up with a head ache in the early hours of the morning.

All the staff were very accommodating and friendly. We had a meal in Michael Caines on Fifth – well worth a visit as it was excellent quality and service was second to none; even husband was impressed (and he’s an especially hard to please chef). Breakfast was part of the stay and free the food was again of a high standard and hot with eager to please serving staff.

Overall excellent stay - next time we go away - we will be staying with Abode Hotels

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovy0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Found the Abode perfect in every way. The car park was easy to find, just to right of main entrance and look for the spaces marked with "H". Our room was ready even though it was only 11.30 am, room spacious and very modern with the most comfortable bed ever.

Excellent location, head down Grosvenor Street and you will soon be in the centre. As previous reviews have said the breakfast and the choices were excellent and perfectly cooked. The thing that set this hotel above others we have stayted in was the attention to detail and the politeness of all the staff we came across. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberystwyth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed at the Abode for 2 nights in Sept after it was recommended by a friend. We stayed in a comfortable room which was really big with everything you need in it, staff were really nice, breakfast was very good quality and plenty of it BUT to get into the hotel itself took us a good twenty minutes as we missed the turning to get into the car park
( they are waiting council permission to put up signs) so ended up circling a couple of times then once in the lift there is no sign to say which is button for reception (its 0) went up and down a few floors til we came across a staff member. As said everything else was good, location abt 7-10 mins walk, nice walk along the river to get to town as well.
Would recommend this hotel and are planning to stay again in Nov. Although will be asking for a quieter room next time as we were in a room (207) above the bar and saturday night they had a wedding party so music was on til 2am and sleep was disturbed. I think this has been mentioned in a previous review.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waktolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed at short notice and was attracted by the free breakfast, we visit Chester a lot and normally stay at the Crowne Plaza, i will now be switching to the Abode, the free breakfast included in the price was a plus point, we didnt eat in the restaurant but believe it is nice and reasonable, we will definately be back and can recommend this hotel, just be aware of the £10 charge for the car park, also security with the strict access to floors and rooms is very safe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing