We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy & Modern”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Classy & Modern”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Abode have car parking in the hotel's basement, very easily connected WiFi throughout, classy dining in Michael Caine's restaurant, comfy clean bedrooms, stylish bars on ground & 5th floors (sometimes exclusively booked for weddings), and is located well for Chester town centre or the races.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    628
    291
    86
    52
See reviews for
162
1,279
39
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Excellent hotel, great location being only minutes away from Chester city centre and overlooking the racecourse.
This is the third time that we have stayed at this hotel. We have always found the staff very helpful and friendly.




  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Good location, very large and modern rooms with lovely bathroom. Staff very good would recommend this hotel.
There is a charge for car parking but given its location this is to be expected and there were plenty of available parking spaces.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully designed room with the biggest bed I have ever slept in (3 full pillows wide). Really convenient for the centre (everything within an easy walk). Breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 10GazE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I brought mum to Chester and booked the abode following a recommendation from a friend... It was fab, a modern yet warm and friendly hotel with fantastic views. The bar and Grill serves excellent food

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

The room was amazing and the bed very comfortable, the view was out to another building. Can't complain the hotel was full being a bank holiday. Chester is an amazing place to visit, lots to do here. Restaurant and bar very good! However the Reception staff at check out the morning off departure were incompetent and need training.
I'd prepaid for my 2 rooms and showed them the voucher and after 15 minutes they agreed I'd had prepaid. No apology, made me feel they were giving me a gift! They were trying to charge me an extra £ 700

Other family friends that stayed their the same time were charged for 2 nights, but only stayed and booked for one! No name badges on reception staff says it all.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akepa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 29/8 the hotel was lovely and a great location. Staff were v friendly . Downside to our stay was an email to say the restaurant was closed day before we travelled due to a wedding and the inconsiderate guests that continued banging doors until the early morning.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbyT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing