We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Incompetent reception staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incompetent reception staff”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

When we checked in the girl on reception didn't seem to know what she was talking about when explaining the room upgrade, we added one day for breakfast and was later charged for two days breakfast, the reception manager reluctantly deducted one of the days breakfast charge which was of no benefit to us as we were still charged for a days breakfast which we hadn't ordered. The car parking charge was 13.50 but we were told it would be 10, My friends who we travelled with we're charged 20 pounds for parking it didn't make sense. found the staff not very helpful to explain the invoice and didn't apologise at any point. The head receptionist never cracked a smile and we weren't bid a nice day or a thank you for staying. Very disappointing as we had spent a considerable amount of Money in the restaurant and bar during our stay, would not be stay again
:-( Donna

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Page38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    609
    275
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,236
38
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prenton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed the night as we are due to get married in chester later this year and have a lot of family coming over from overseas to attend the wedding and wanted to see where they could stay while here.
Check in was smooth , room was nice, lacked some toiletries you would expect for the price of the room. The tv remote did not work but we didn't complain and enjoyed our stay. Upon checking out we were asked the usual did you have anything from the snack bar to which our reply was no, we in fact had taken our own snacks back the room (5 months pregnant lady needs snacks). We then received a voicemail from what can only be described as a little giggling girl asking me to call back with regards the "missing"unpaid snack bar item. I immediately called back and the gentleman advised me in a very accusing manner of "taking" a salty chocolate bar, I confirmed nothing had been taken and felt very insulted to which his reply was not sorry but a basic ok!

It's safe to say they have lost thousands of pounds from our family and friends over a salty chocolate bar probably worth 50p. I would rather put my family up in the travelodge than have the embarrassment of them being treated and spoken to like a thief.

Very disappointed!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly10Prenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip N, General Manager at Abode Chester, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly disappointed that we did not meet or indeed exceed your expectations.

I sincerely hope that these incidents have not discouraged you from visiting ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss this matter further.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Second time stayed here. Central location for shops. Great views over race course. Would recommend this hotel. Large modern rooms. Good choice of breakfast and great views from restraunt. Underground parking with lift access to rooms


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel location is unpromising at first, in front of a very busy road, fortunately it seems to be quite well sound proofed since we didn't hear much noise during our short stay.

The old city wall is literally there and one could walk into town righ from the hotel, avoiding the main road, ask your concierge if in doubt.

Our room had a great view of the racing track, it was well equipped and the bed was ample and very comfortable, I always like a small sofa to watch telly late at night but there was none here in spite of the room being quite big, which would have come handy during the world cup, but one can't have it all I suppose.

The the toiletteries were nice and luxurious, and the view from the loo was also tremendous, but I would say one could feel exposed! They didn't have 2 sets of towels in the bathroom, but we found an extra set in the room, but we shoudln't have needed to do this.

if anything I wasn't pleased with the lighthing, we could not manage to turn off the lamps and lights that we wanted, so had to resort to un-screw bulbs. I don't know why hotels make such a mess of this: a master switch to turn it all on or off and then individual switches so one can suit oneself...

The hotel public areas are tastefully decorated and the building itself is architecturally interesting, being cylindrical.

We tried the bar which was pleasent enough, with nice views of a couple of landmarks.

Another plus about the hotel is safety, the lifts can't be operated without an electronic key (although I didn't see if the same precaution was used for the stairs, I would hope so).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TzctlpcLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel was clean and very comfortable. All the staff were eager to make your stay all you wanted it to be.
This is an ideal hotel to get you all around Chester .
The atmosphere in the lounge and champagne bar were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Just go. It was wonderful had a night in a fabulous suite it was worth the extra money the reception staff could not have been better well done. Loved it so much have booked christmas and new year in june

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chrissiewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff check you making you feel very welcome. Rooms comfortable nice view of racecourse. Breakfast excellent eggs benedict lovely best ever. Good bar area staff very nice. Great stay easy walk into chester from hotel

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wiggy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip N, General Manager at Abode Chester, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly pleased you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will visit ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss future bookings.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing