We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Booked a stay at the abode chester for my partners birthday, we both really enjoyed our stay. The staff were polite, helpful and eager to give a good account of themselves and uphold the good reputation of the hotel and brand. From the moment we checked in the staff made us feel welcome and very much at ease. Great hotel, great location, a must stay place if you are visiting Chester.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
There are newer reviews for ABode Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on 01/03/14..

Lovely relaxing atmosphere.
We booked for a massage each.
Very relaxing, worth every penny!

We upgraded our room at check in for a beautiful suite!! We dined in the hotel which was outstanding quality!

Will definitely recommend

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarahjane92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at the aBode recently and it was one of the nicest places we have been and there has been a lot! The customer service was GREAT! We even upgraded at a very reasonable price to an enviable plus suite and it was lovely! We will deffinately be visiting again very soon. 5*all round.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here as a Saturday night away treat for my wife's birthday. I would recommend that you take advantage of the underground parking otherwise it's a bit of a trek from the other car parks. Started the evening with some tasty cocktails, before dining in the Cafe Bar which was great then to the bar for a few drinks before retiring to our 'Desirable' room and it's massive, comfortable bed for a wonderful night's sleep.

Couple of niggles - shower plug could not drain the tray as quickly as the shower head flow, causing me to flood the bathroom floor! Wake up call 15 mins late, breakfast slow and a little disorganised, albeit very tasty (I recommend the Eggs Benedict) - I put these few problems down to the fact that the clocks went forwards causing everyone to lose an hours sleep! There was a small problem with the dinner bill - we were charged for 3 meals, rather than 2, however, this was quickly put right.

On the whole, this was a lovely place to stay, all the staff were friendly and easy going and the ambience was chilled and relaxed. It's a refreshing change from the usual 'business' type hotels which are all share the basic Hotel DNA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhysdavies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Chester us a quaint town outside of Manchester. There are fewer hotels to stay when there for business, but Abode, a small regional chain of hotels does a great job of providing a reasonably priced and high quality place to stay. It's right across from the race track, which is good, because it is relatively hard to find. Rooms are clean, modern and functional. Shower was a little awkward-- half a door, so water splashed out on to the floor. Service was great, food in the restaurants was excellent as well. Limited parking underground. Some good restaurants within a few blocks. Well worth staying here when in Chester!

Room Tip: The hotel is a circular building, so outer rooms have a great view from any side. There us a small...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isdn4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and big but I feel the bed could have been bigger (the 'desirable' rooms at abode in Manchester have HUGE beds!). Also the room was swelteringly hot and the air conditioning didn't work, if I hadn't had many cocktails I probably wouldn't have slept!
The 'tuck tray' with tepid drinks, a fridge would be good.

Upon checkout we told the receptionist about the Aircon and she wasn't bothered about apologising.

I wouldn't stay here again, for the money you pay it's simply not worth it. I'd have slept better in a travel lodge.

Despite the negatives, the restaurant and bar are amazing and I'd recommend them for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I'll start by saying the breakfast here is fantastic and the service too. Sadly the room we had was incredibly disappointing for the price of the hotel and the high standard of the restaurant. We stayed in a standard double which for the price was incredibly small and incredibly basic. The bathroom was about the same size as the room and very nice although the towel rail was broken and the bathroom floor got soaked each time we showered as there was only one panel of glass and it was a powerful shower. The service throughout our stay was great although we did have a maid walk in on us in the morning getting dressed as she thought the room was unoccupied but these things happen. Disappointing : (

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $102 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing