We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Oakton, Virginia
1 review
“Can't fault it”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a one night stay for a wedding and the venue was perfect.
The room was excellent, the view was wonderful. The snack bar inexpensive. Free WiFi. Great breakfast. Room was comfy, spacious, well set out, very clean and great bathroom.

Room Tip: 4th floor, towards the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyB22124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    632
    294
    88
    53
See reviews for
163
1,291
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
billingham
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in a double luxury room on the 4th floor and was not let down. Staff very pleasent and helpful . Lovely views over racecourse at breakfast. Great location and would recommend this hotel and will be visiting again .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpj212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed yesterday for a wedding.
Love the hotel, and everything about the civil wedding in the hotel was excellent but the bedroom was disappointing.
Enjoyed a suite on 6 last time, and they are stunning but worthy of their cost. This time just a standard room. Very Small, no bath, no in room water or anything (everything is charged) no shampoos in the bathroom, small TV (but totally adequate to be honest).
Down side, housekeeping had the air on on at 25degree when we got to the room, the lovely floor to ceiling windows had the blinds drawn back and upon entry it was like a sauna. We killed the air on right down and shut the curtains (as it was a sunny day) but sadly when we turned in for the night it was still sweltering, and a terrible nights sleep followed due to the room being so hot!
Should have asked to be reroomed really!
To round off it off, I booked the room direct with the hotel on email weeks ago as it was a function, but had I of left it til last week and gone through bookings.com or late rooms, I could have got the room considerably cheaper I saw online, shame but won't put he off staying here again, it's excellent, just didn't wow me this time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittenweem
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

First time to Chester, first time at the Abode. Looked at lots of hotels in this area and picked the Abode on price,style and Tripadvisor reviews! For once we made the right choice and were NOT disappointed. Our room was on the road side but we couldn't even moan about that as the double glazing was so good we heard nothing! Great staff, GREAT breakfast (though pricey) and stylish, comfortable room. Just goes to show you CAN have style and comfort at a sensible price! Only down side is the £10 per night parking fee!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed in the Abode in Chester. Both times I have been so impressed with what the hotel had to offer. The hotel is modern and clean, from the main reception to the rooms. The staff are very professional and extremely helpful.

One of the main reasons I like this hotel is that it seems to have very good sound proofing. Both times we stayed we were located very close to the lift and there was some noise through the door. However, there was absolutely none from either room or above and most importantly from outside as there is a very busy round a bout in front of the hotel.

The other reason is the location which is pretty much central and is especially good if you are going to the racecourse as the hotel over looks this. It took us only 5 minutes to walk to the main shopping area.

The hotel Wifi is very good and I had no problem accessing the internet at high speed.

The breakfast is worth paying for especially the English breakfast as it is filling, not greasy and set out in a nice way.

The second time we stayed we paid for a standard double room which was very good but I would recommend if you can afford it to pay for the superior room (which we stayed in the first time) as it is a lot more spacious and worth the extra money.

I cannot say anymore than I would never think of staying in another hotel in Chester.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamaj29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Have now stayed twice at ABode Chester and I would have to say that the staff, location and underground parking are excellent. Bar/restaurant clean, modern (a little cool but both visits were on wet and windy weekends). We stayed with our elderly parents who thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Room facilities are really good, our room a little on the small side but not a problem. The only minor whinge I have is that the beds are seriously soft, not a problem for those who like a soft mattress, my husband and I both would have preferred firmer mattresses but that's just our personal taste. Note: Have marked swimming pool and children's activities as average as didn't experience these.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked our room on the day our stay. Check in is from 2pm which was great, it was easy to find, car park was no problem and we checked in. The room we were staying was divine. A king size bed, with a lovely soft mattress, a tv with ipod docking station, good size bathroom with a walk in shower. Behind the bed was a glass pane and there was the bath which was unusual and was not expecting it so was a lovely bonus and it was unusual to what we are used to. Our view was off office blocks so we shut the curtains which was perfect for us. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the city centre.
Breakfast was super, overlooking Chester racecourse. All you can eat continental including croissants, baguettes, ham, cheeses, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices of every kind. And we ordered a hot breakfast and toast which arrived very quick.
Overall we loved our stayed and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LND88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing