We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the very best”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed February 23, 2014

we have just got back this afternoon from three days in this hotel in Chester .our room was very large ,king size bed ,bath and walk in shower,large tv and dvd all told the room was superb the full size window over looking the Chester streets was excellent to watch every thing going on.then there is the food the breakfasts fill you up for the day,we had a evening meal in the michael caine restaurant which we found to be excellent ,then there is the cocktail bar which had every drink you could think of and last of all the staff are superb in every way.will be back again soon to room 204 thank you all for a very good time .

Room Tip: room 204 excellent
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestatynTonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
There are newer reviews for ABode Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

I booked this hotel as a treat to myself and my boyfriend. We opted for the midweek Dinner, Bed and Breakfast option. We were running a little later than planned so when we arrived we were aware that our dinner reservation was within 40 mins of our arrival.
We received a warm welcome from a lovely member of staff called Jess. We asked if we could change our reservation back by 30 minutes. Not a problem.
We were checked in and pointed in the direction of our room very quickly. The room was perfect for short visit and the bed as said in many reviews was simply AMAZING.

We showered and changed and went to the champagne bar for drinks before our dinner. It was very quiet, but had a lovely atmosphere. We browsed the menu and decided that as we were having a meal we would opt for a light drink first, so ordered a bottle of Prosecco.
Sadly they didnt have any as it was a special promotion they were having and it had now ended. We settled for a nice bottle of wine anyway.

Jess the lady from reception came out and greeted us as she actually worked in the restaurant. She explained that they were just preparing our table and we would be seated shortly.

The restaurant was very busy, but it still had a very nice atmosphere. We ordered our food, a few things that we wanted were not available but we still had lots of choice. The food did take a while to come out, but at no point did we think it was an excessive wait.
When the food arrived it was explained what it was, and was beautiful. Jess came back and had a chat with us to make sure everything was ok.

We ordered breakfast to our room, and it arrived on time and was beautiful.

We really were made to feel very welcome by all the staff at this hotel, we will be returning and anybody staying in Chester should pay them a visit. Thank You Jess for making our stay extra special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiB992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very good hotel and restaurant with friendly staff in a good city centre location.

However, also somewhat mean spirited.

I had a small bottle of water from a selection of items in the room and was charged £1.85.

2 days later I received in the post an invoice for £1.99 taken from my credit card for some sort of biscuit I had not eaten. Albeit a very small sum, on principle, I duly complained and was promised a refund - how much would that transaction have cost the hotel?

I cannot recall when I was charged for such items in a hotel, many less expensive than this one!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early at 09:00 as we were going to the zoo. When we got to the hotel they checked to see if any room was available and as there wasn't they happily took our bag which was taken to our room to await our arrival.

We got back to the hotel and the room was ready and they had as promised put our bag in the room for us.

We were offered breakfast at a discounted rate at check in which can also be delivered to your room at no extra charge which was a really good touch.

We stayed in a desirable room and rather than having a balcony we had a room with a bath. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bed has to be seen to be believed as it is enormous and is really easy to sleep in.

Breakfast was delivered to our room at our specified time and was delicious. It came with everything we wanted and was perfectly presented.

The staff in the hotel throughout were really lovely and helpful and couldn't have been nicer.

The only bad point was that we ordered a cocktail to the room from the online drinks menu and we were then called by the bar to say that they didn't have the drink listed and didn't have the recipe. They instead offered to create a drink for us to the same flavour but it wasn't on the bars offer price of 2 for £9 it was full price so came to £15.

Apart from this point the stay was perfect and we would most certainly recommend the hotel and revisit ourselves.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Micki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked this hotel an hour before arrival at a cost of £105 room only basis.
very friendly and efficient staff, we had room 415, no bath but shower and balcony overlooking racecourse
Excellent cocktails in the downstairs lounge followed by two club sandwiches by room service.
The only negative was a very soft mattress

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariedes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a lovely night last Friday clean spacious room, comfortable bed, nice bath followed by meal in the grill restaurant drinks and great breakfast before shopping in Chester Saturday, great 24 hours.

Room Tip: desirable rooms are spacious and comfortable
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweedyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Unfortunately this was a visit in February, a very wet time in England so the selling point of this hotel - the views over the racecouse- was a nice view of a marshy swimming pool. Not a lot the hotel could do about that. room was very good and a bit quirky- bath is in a partitioned off bit of the bedroom- odd , but go with it- it works. Shower in the bathroom too if you are self concious.
Food was good, but to be honest , given that it was a celebrity chefs menu lacked some of the wow i was expecting. As usual for me the deserts were disappointing- boring rice pudding and my wife reported the poached pear to be like it was straight out of a tin. Starter sof scallops a main of Sea Bass were good though. Overall , a great night out and chester itself never fails to please.
10 mins to check out was unfortunate as only 1 on receprion and she was on a phone call to a prospective client- staff levels a bit low in the bar too

Room Tip: try and get a room looking over the racecourse
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $102 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing