We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Friday”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab Friday”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a lovely night last Friday clean spacious room, comfortable bed, nice bath followed by meal in the grill restaurant drinks and great breakfast before shopping in Chester Saturday, great 24 hours.

Room Tip: desirable rooms are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweedyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    632
    294
    88
    54
See reviews for
163
1,292
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Unfortunately this was a visit in February, a very wet time in England so the selling point of this hotel - the views over the racecouse- was a nice view of a marshy swimming pool. Not a lot the hotel could do about that. room was very good and a bit quirky- bath is in a partitioned off bit of the bedroom- odd , but go with it- it works. Shower in the bathroom too if you are self concious.
Food was good, but to be honest , given that it was a celebrity chefs menu lacked some of the wow i was expecting. As usual for me the deserts were disappointing- boring rice pudding and my wife reported the poached pear to be like it was straight out of a tin. Starter sof scallops a main of Sea Bass were good though. Overall , a great night out and chester itself never fails to please.
10 mins to check out was unfortunate as only 1 on receprion and she was on a phone call to a prospective client- staff levels a bit low in the bar too

Room Tip: try and get a room looking over the racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Visiting Chester with 82 year old mother, staff couldn't have been more helpful. Fabulous location -5 minutes to centre of Chester. Cocktail bar - fabulous view - lovely cocktails overlooking roodeee race course.
Breakfast delicious. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zylko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Abode and enjoyed the experience very much. A modern hotel situated in a great location, overlooking the race course and easy walking distance from the historic centre, shops, restaurants, etc. Comfortable room with good views and all modern facilities - a comfortable and quiet night's sleep. Enjoyed dinner in both restaurants and service very good. A great bonus, particularly for the business person, is the secure parking underneath the hotel. This hotel would suit both the business person and holiday-maker.

Room Tip: Book early during race days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here with friends,on a Saturday night. Great underground car park, although did park in someone's office space and then had a little drive around to find an available hotel space. Quick and efficient check in, we had booked 2 double comfort rooms, and has to be the best night's sleep I have had in any hotel-ever!! Rooms were spotless with everything we needed, down side if I had to pick one, no fridge! We decided to eat in the cafe bar and grill as it was less formal. Not a huge menu choice however what we had was excellent. Staff very friendly and professional. We did try to book a table for 7.30pm however that could not be accommodated and had to settle for 6.30pm, we thought that the restaurant would be full as couldn't get a 7.30pm sitting. This was not the case so I assume it was to make sure the chefs could cope. The bar for after dinner drinks was very comfortable. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on that-we walked into the city centre to eat as it's only a short walk. We will definitely be staying here again I am sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hednesford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

very good hotel, staff were very friendly, room was really nice and clean. the shower was ok but it leaked on the floor not a great design to be honest. the bed was too soft for my liking but thats just my preference. would stay at this hotel again though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funauntjento3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel offers indoor parking but the design of the car park is a complete mess. The corners are too tight to take comfortably and it's not clear at all where you can and can't park.

My room was pretty sub-standard for the price paid - whilst not awful, I've stayed in better rooms that have cost half the price. The heating system didn't work properly, meaning one half of the room was like a sauna and the other like an igloo, and the mattress was very soft, leading to a rather uncomfortable night's sleep. We had also paid a premium for a room with a balcony only to discover that the balcony door didn't open anyway.

The restaurant staff are nice, but in a way, this makes it worse as you'll constantly be avoiding eye contact to cover up what you really feel about the establishment. When booking, we were curtly told that we'd need to be in and out in 2 hours as they were very busy and needed the tables to turnover quickly. Why, then, it took them 3 hours to serve a three course meal when the restaurant was half full is beyond me. The food and drink quality was very hit and miss but, on the whole, was poorly seasoned with far too much salt. In particular, the fries were salted beyond the point of edible and had to be sent back. Oh, and our table wasn't even clean.

In case you're wondering why we didn't complain at the time, we did - only to be greeted with an eye-rolling receptionist and a manager who started the conversation by telling us he "only had two minutes"....Words fail me.

In fairness, we were eventually offered a partial refund to make up for not getting the room we had paid for but the whole experience has put me off this hotel forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OccasionallyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,631 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing