We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable and convenient”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dependable and convenient”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Abode and enjoyed the experience very much. A modern hotel situated in a great location, overlooking the race course and easy walking distance from the historic centre, shops, restaurants, etc. Comfortable room with good views and all modern facilities - a comfortable and quiet night's sleep. Enjoyed dinner in both restaurants and service very good. A great bonus, particularly for the business person, is the secure parking underneath the hotel. This hotel would suit both the business person and holiday-maker.

Room Tip: Book early during race days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    634
    295
    88
    54
See reviews for
164
1,294
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here with friends,on a Saturday night. Great underground car park, although did park in someone's office space and then had a little drive around to find an available hotel space. Quick and efficient check in, we had booked 2 double comfort rooms, and has to be the best night's sleep I have had in any hotel-ever!! Rooms were spotless with everything we needed, down side if I had to pick one, no fridge! We decided to eat in the cafe bar and grill as it was less formal. Not a huge menu choice however what we had was excellent. Staff very friendly and professional. We did try to book a table for 7.30pm however that could not be accommodated and had to settle for 6.30pm, we thought that the restaurant would be full as couldn't get a 7.30pm sitting. This was not the case so I assume it was to make sure the chefs could cope. The bar for after dinner drinks was very comfortable. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on that-we walked into the city centre to eat as it's only a short walk. We will definitely be staying here again I am sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hednesford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

very good hotel, staff were very friendly, room was really nice and clean. the shower was ok but it leaked on the floor not a great design to be honest. the bed was too soft for my liking but thats just my preference. would stay at this hotel again though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funauntjento3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel offers indoor parking but the design of the car park is a complete mess. The corners are too tight to take comfortably and it's not clear at all where you can and can't park.

My room was pretty sub-standard for the price paid - whilst not awful, I've stayed in better rooms that have cost half the price. The heating system didn't work properly, meaning one half of the room was like a sauna and the other like an igloo, and the mattress was very soft, leading to a rather uncomfortable night's sleep. We had also paid a premium for a room with a balcony only to discover that the balcony door didn't open anyway.

The restaurant staff are nice, but in a way, this makes it worse as you'll constantly be avoiding eye contact to cover up what you really feel about the establishment. When booking, we were curtly told that we'd need to be in and out in 2 hours as they were very busy and needed the tables to turnover quickly. Why, then, it took them 3 hours to serve a three course meal when the restaurant was half full is beyond me. The food and drink quality was very hit and miss but, on the whole, was poorly seasoned with far too much salt. In particular, the fries were salted beyond the point of edible and had to be sent back. Oh, and our table wasn't even clean.

In case you're wondering why we didn't complain at the time, we did - only to be greeted with an eye-rolling receptionist and a manager who started the conversation by telling us he "only had two minutes"....Words fail me.

In fairness, we were eventually offered a partial refund to make up for not getting the room we had paid for but the whole experience has put me off this hotel forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OccasionallyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is very well located for Chester centre and enjoyable walks around the town. The view from our room was mainly of the road rather than the racecourse but other rooms clearly have better views. We booked two rooms - one a "comfortable" room and the other a "desirable" room. They were both good quality rooms but they were the same except the more expensive room had a small balcony which in early February was not very beneficial - oh, and we also had a extra bottle of body cream. It was not worth the extra money for the "desirable" room. The "comfortable" room was more than adequate. The highlight of the stay was the Michael Caine champagne bar and restaurant. We went a la carte and the food was very enjoyable although the wait between courses a little longer than ideal and the wrong side dish was provided and couldn't be rectified - not sure why but they didn't charge for it so that was fair. Breakfast was also very good although another slight problem with the service and one cooked breakfast arrived a full ten minutes before the others - very apologetic but not sure what happened, We would stay there again and probably request a better located room next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great night with nice room overlooking the race course. Car park not so easy to spot from the roundabouit because sat nav does not recognise the hotel. Parking spaces could have been better indicated as not all the car park belongs to the hotel. Staff really helpful and attentive, ate in the restaurant where staff were knowledgeable but not pushy. Would benefit from a little more tea and milk in the room but when this is all there is to say, it must be a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the race course, quieter and lots to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margot g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely one night stay at this excellent hotel close to the centre of Chester. The food and service at Michael Caines' restaurant was top quality. The hotel has fabulous views of the race course and is located close to the local designer shops. We are planning to return again later this year. Keep up the good work !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m66mbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing