We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truely excellent getaway....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abode Chester
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truely excellent getaway....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Second time that we've stayed here at the lovely Abode and I'm sure that will come back again and again over the years ahead.
We stayed in the 'Desirable' room which is just right for a luxurious break from the kids. The bed is simply massive and so comfy and the room is a good and decent size too. Worth the only slightly extra tariff (especially for the convenience of a bath too instead of just a drench shower).
Although we opted to book dinner elsewhere in the city this time around, the champagne and lounge bar facilities are excellent as well as a very tasty breakfast from very attentive staff.
It was amusing to see another customer attempting to complain about some random issue about there dinner, although in appeared they were just complaining for 'complaining sake', if you know where I'm coming from with that observation. In fact I cannot see any negative points to raise at all, other than the only improvement could be if the hotel had a pool and full Spa facilities. That would possibly give it the extra star it possibly desires, but it still would deter us from coming back again.
Excellently located on the edge of the city walls, especially if you are off to the racecourse, but just as much so for a short walk or taxi journey into the city for the shopaholics and gastronauts amongst you all.
Some people have mentioned noise, but even though our room overlooked one of the main thoroughfares into Chester, it bore no problem. FYI there is also parking facilities under the hotel. At £10.00 per night, it may appear quite steep, but I assure you that is more than reasonable for Chester overnight secure parking.

Hope this helps....now go and give it a try, I know we will...again.

Room Tip: Go for the 'Desirable' room if stuck for choice. So much room and full bath/shower facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    600
    273
    81
    49
See reviews for
150
1,224
38
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Everything about the abode was lovely! Especially the bed.. 'Twas huuuuuge! Lovely staff:) - amazing view!
Lush cocktails! And the food, oh god, it you didn't even need to leave the actual hotel for anything!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charloooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The positives
+Excellent location, couple of mins walk from everything i.e. bars, clubs and restaurants
+Staff polite
+Huge comfortable bed and spacious room (enviable room) spotlessly clean,
+ tea making facility in room, with iron and board, hair dryer, hangers- all things we needed and used.
+When the bathroom gets steamed up somehow the mirror excludes a square on the mirror so that you can still see through it, very impressive!
and the Negatives
- some wear and tear to shower already though!
- cleaners extremely noisy very early in the mornings.. no chance for a lie in!
- they stated they would send someone to fix our speaker system as the tv sound would not connect with them, but no one came.
-Food is pricey.
Overall if your looking for a treat/romantic break or can genuinely afford this then go for it: the perks of the higher prices rooms are enjoyable. However if it's just to get your head down after a night out, there are much cheaper places with nice standards, where maybe you also won't get woken up as early too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams_Like2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I spent Christmas 2013 here as part of a group. The hotel is very modern and part of a complex of offices and apartments, right next to the racecourse.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the rooms spacious and well furnished. Just needed to get the heating turned up a bit which they did. We had dinner in the Michael Caines restaurant and it was first class with attentive service. It was Christmas Eve and the restaurant was full of "outside" diners so they also liked what was on offer. Breakfast was also taken here and the choice of hot food, freshly cooked was very good. Other meals taken in other rooms were also fine.

The location is just 10 minute walk from the centre of Chester, well worth a visit on any day of the year..

Room Tip: Do insist on getting the heating turned up, because it can be done!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Compact well appointed room, great view over river and racecourse. Excellent secure parking, at a cost though. Didn't sample breakfast as it seemed rather steep pricewise. Location of hotel was brilliant as it was only a 5 minute walk to the city centre. Ground floor restaurant was decent value and decent quality. Nothing spectacular though! Plenty of brilliant eating places nearby though. Room was very hot due to the full length glass windows, were informed on checkout we could have had the master temperature turned down from reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HariboFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here last weekend and could not fault anything. The bedrooms are amazing and all the staff are just great, the reception team really looked after us and ensured our stay was enjoyable. The food in restaurant was perfect.

Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having visited Chester on multiple occasions and stayed in other local City hotels I was keen to try the Abode, and was left disappointed.

The hotel is in a great location, offers very reasonable rates and is spotless throughout the hotel.

My only real criticism was that our room (414), the heating did not work, having phoned through to reception twice to report this, I was told that they would reset it which would resolve problem, however after over an hour of waiting, nothing. No call from reception to check if we were ok or offer to swap room, I can only assume they had forgot about us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlelips500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing