We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ABode Chester
Nearby Hotels
$120
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chester House Guest House(Chester)(Great Value!)
$86
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,272)
Filter reviews
2,272 results
Traveler rating
1,083
699
328
104
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,083
699
328
104
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barrace coursemichael caines restaurantdesirable roomenviable roomfloor to ceiling windowsfifth floorcar parklovely hoteleggs benedictcity centrewalk in showerreception staffspecial occasionhuge bedmy birthdaystandard room
Filter
Updating list...
1,664 - 1,669 of 2,272 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I spent Christmas 2013 here as part of a group. The hotel is very modern and part of a complex of offices and apartments, right next to the racecourse.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the rooms spacious and well furnished. Just needed to get the heating turned up a bit which they did. We had dinner in the Michael Caines restaurant and it was first class with attentive service. It was Christmas Eve and the restaurant was full of "outside" diners so they also liked what was on offer. Breakfast was also taken here and the choice of hot food, freshly cooked was very good. Other meals taken in other rooms were also fine.

The location is just 10 minute walk from the centre of Chester, well worth a visit on any day of the year..

Room Tip: Do insist on getting the heating turned up, because it can be done!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Compact well appointed room, great view over river and racecourse. Excellent secure parking, at a cost though. Didn't sample breakfast as it seemed rather steep pricewise. Location of hotel was brilliant as it was only a 5 minute walk to the city centre. Ground floor restaurant was decent value and decent quality. Nothing spectacular though! Plenty of brilliant eating places nearby though. Room was very hot due to the full length glass windows, were informed on checkout we could have had the master temperature turned down from reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HariboFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here last weekend and could not fault anything. The bedrooms are amazing and all the staff are just great, the reception team really looked after us and ensured our stay was enjoyable. The food in restaurant was perfect.

Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having visited Chester on multiple occasions and stayed in other local City hotels I was keen to try the Abode, and was left disappointed.

The hotel is in a great location, offers very reasonable rates and is spotless throughout the hotel.

My only real criticism was that our room (414), the heating did not work, having phoned through to reception twice to report this, I was told that they would reset it which would resolve problem, however after over an hour of waiting, nothing. No call from reception to check if we were ok or offer to swap room, I can only assume they had forgot about us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlelips500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spent the night formy birthday upon check in we are asked if wanted to upgrade on several options which we didnt. Our room was noisy heard banging and drilling till 6pm. Went to the champagne bar first cocktail was fab then hardly any alcohol. This was not a patch on cocktails in the grosvenor. The room was nice fewchips out of fixtures. Beautifully clean just noisy. Woke me three times during the night.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hughesy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews