We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at the Abode on a Friday and Saturday night on our way to the Cotswolds,excellent central location for seeing all that Chester has to offer.Its a great modern Hotel that has been designed with the right amount of space and amenities in your room together with a great bathroom.Another nice touch is the underground parking,ok so you have to pay £10 per day but for city centre parking and removing the hassle of carrying your luggage to the hotel it's well worth it.Staff were really friendly and check in was quick and easy.An added bonus was the great pub next to the hotel called the Architect serving good food and drink.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank blytheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    519
    234
    68
    46
See reviews for
117
1,058
33
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

A comfortable stay, rooms spacious, modern and comfortable. Friendly service. Home away from home. Bar lounge informal and relaxing. Breakfast was incredible, very tasty. Views over racecourse lovely. Recommend for a weekend break. Great location to explore Chester.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a hotel! Fantastic stay for the races, we had a brilliant weekend in one of the best hotels I've stated in! The room had a beautiful huge glass window overlooking the race course and the biggest and most comfiest bed I have ever slept in!! The hotel is in perfect position for the races and chester centre, the staff were fantastic, we will most certainly be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

very welcoming & polite staff.. me and my partner stayed 2 nights and was very happy with our room (clean tidy and great view) i understand everyone has different views but i must add im very shocked about the negative comments (which is hardly any) we will be staying again :) and would highly re
commend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent the night at the abode and had a great time. It's in the perfect location for shopping and the bars in Chester. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was amazing, it was so comfy and massive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendleech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed her for one night recently and I have to say it was fantastic. From the minute we arrived we received excellent service. The receptionist even rang through to our room to check that everthing was ok. A little hiccup when we first arrived in the room as it was very cold. After playing around with the air conditioning everything was soon sorted. The room was spacious and we had a great view of the race course. the bathroom was modern with a nice big shower. You will need to take your own toiletries with you as they only supply one small shower gel and a soap. We ate in the resaurant and the food and service were fantastic. Well worth the money. Breakfast was good and the service was not quite as good as dinner but not a problem. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the race course even if it is not a race day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Abode hotel on the 2/09/13 for 2 nights on the Summer Scorcher deal, on arrival we were greeted and made extremely welcome and even got to choose which room we wanted, we chose one overlooking the race course which meant we had a balcony. The room was very spacious, clean and had great views, once we had settled in and changed we went for dinner, when booking the hotel I had received an email confirming that we were on the dinner, bed and breakfast deal but this did not detail what we were about to find out. Once we had been seated in the MC Café Bar and Grill we were advised we had to pick our choice of 2 courses for £10.95 and if we didn't want that we would receive £10.95 off our meals from the normal menu, I was extremely disappointed on the choice from the £10.95 menu as it was very limited(3 choices), this resulted in both of us paying extra for food off the normal menu, so really we were paying more than expected. When the bill arrived we didn't need to tip as this was already built in as a percentage, I always tip but having a percentage added to your bill of what the hotel thinks is correct was not a great selling point for me, I cant argue about the quality of the food as it was tasty but I was just disappointed about the deal.

Overall I would return to the hotel to stay but would eat out in Chester as there are a lot more reasonable priced restaurants, I cant complain about the breakfast as there was great choice, the staff were bending over backwards to help you and always in a good mood.

Karen and Martin

Room Tip: Watch out for the Summer Scorcher deal! Watch out for the built in % for a tip on your bill from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hallmark Hotel Chester The Queen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing