We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“A decent stay in a decent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A decent stay in a decent hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Abode for one night to attend an evening at the Lord Mayor of Chester's Ball in the city. The room was very nice, not massive but more than large enough for the two of us. The staff were very good & professional. The hotel is modern & very clean. We did not have dinner at the hotel but did have breakfast in the morning which was nice but was only just warm for some reason . I liked the hotel & would consider returning but was a bit put out that having made an error with the booking with Travel republic & clicking on the wrong room the hotel refused to change the booking to one with breakfast (at the same price) & I had to pay extra for breakfast. Though the hotel has every right to do so it does not do anything to encourage repeat business !.On the whole I would recommend this hotel if staying in Chester

Room Tip: Book parking at the hotel as good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonstar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    609
    275
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,236
38
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again for a special treat for me and my girlfriend, we have been previously and are yet to be let down, booked an enviable room which was amazing the bed was huge!! The upgrade was well worth the extra! Don't get me wrong the standard rooms are also great! The Hotel is in a great location and perfect for a nice weekend break! Parking is very convenient and secure. We ate in the michal caines resturant this is the 3rd time we have eaten there and in the past have always gone for the taster menu to be honest the portions are a little small tasty but small! this time we ate from the a la carte menu turned out to be the right decision very very tasty and obviously bigger portions! the champagne bar is very nice and the cocktails are amazing!! overall beautiful clean hotel with excellent staff!! Pay on the back to you all. Will defiantly be back soon and will choose this hotel over any other in Chester! Thanks again for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

If attending Chester races it is a given that You will consider staying at the Abode.

We/I did in July 13. What a shame one of the busiest times in Chesters calendar and
could we find something to eat. The staff (4) were too busy texting and talking to even serve Me
a drink..

Has for a light meal before We attended the races.............not a chance. No one knew what was available, reception told us one thing and the staff said We don't serve food on race days.

Your a hotel You have patrons who need to eat after a 100 mile trip.

Having said that we ate in a nice Italian 30 mins walk away. Later we ate in the Michael Caine restaurant and it was class. The service was impeccable and the food was very good.

I don't think You should leave a bad review for a situation that can with a word in the right ears
be sorted. It did not spoil the whole occasion but it was bordering on farcical the fact it was 2pm Friday afternoon and we had to walk in to Chester for something to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGLORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan. england
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed for one night in july for a birthday. Location is brilliant, just far enough away from the centre so its nice and quiet but only 2 or 3 minutes walk and your in all the shops and bars etc.

We ate at the Michael Caine restaurant in the hotel. The food and service were outstanding, I honestly couldn't criticize anything. We were made to feel very welcome, the meal was served at a nice relaxed pace, each dish was explained to you as it was served. We have eaten at many places over the years and this was up there with the best. would not hesitate to recommend and we will be going back. well done

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilerman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Have stayed here many times with work. Hotel is modern, rooms nicely decorated and bathroom spacious and clean. Beds as said before was very comfortable. A little noise from guests slamming doors or chatting in the corridor, but thats inconsiderate guests rather than the fault of the hotel. The Michael Caines Restaurant is excellent. Breakfast cooked to order and not too large. Buffet continental is also available. I did have room service which was a little disappointing, soup was cold, no salt or pepper and the fish pie was mediocre. Always found the staff helpful and friendly. Is located right next to the racecourse and a short walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc30168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here on business, it's a lovely hotel, rooms are very comfortable, lovely bathrooms, very comfy beds, nice decor in rooms and public areas. I ate in the restaurant, the food was lovely, and staff were very attentive, puddings are huge! If you feel the cold take a cardigan with you to the restaurants as they tend to have air con on, it's a bit cool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had three rooms booked here for a family trip this weekend - however, plans changed, and because our room was non-refunable, we decided to make use of it anyways. I'm glad we did. The hotel is really pleasant - comfortable, modern, parking was simple (although we were told they had loads of spaces - there was 1 when we arrived pre-check-in time!).
We were given an enormous room facing into the complex (a circular building) which was really pleasant - however - my wife has bat ears - and as we were next to the lift, she could hear the mechanics. We rang down to reception, and as they didn't have any rooms left at our grade - we opted to pay the extra £10 to move to a slightly better room away from the lift. I'm glad we did - we had a really peaceful nights sleep! The rooms are great - clean, modern, fluffy towels, great water (bad water in bathrooms drives me nuts - having to wait for hot water).

We went up to the champagne bar on the 5th floor for cocktails before choosing to eat in the grill downstairs. The cocktails were beautiful - as was the food.

We were able to borrow a phone charger from reception, and also a dvd to watch in our room.

I really liked this hotel - and I would stay there again definitely. Staff had really relaxed attitudes - and even though the 5th floor bar and restaurant were very classy (and filled with very well groomed people) there was no problem with people enjoying the facilities without a dress code.

Highly reccommended. Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing