We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Stay”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Overall found the hotel to be very good value for money. We stayed in an Enviable Plus room, after upgrading for a very reasonable fee on arrival. The room facilities were excellent, the rooms of this standard at least can only be described as luxurious. Pricing, although initially seeming expensive, is very reasonable for a city centre hotel.

Location of the hotel is excellent with only a short walk into town for surrounding bars and restaurants.

Bar and room service both very reasonably priced, although used for drinks only, no meals purchased.

Staff, almost entirely demonstrate excellent customer service skills, in fact, with the exception of one member of the reception staff I would describe their customer service as a whole as excellent.

I would definitely stay here again if I was to revisit Chester.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    632
    294
    88
    53
See reviews for
163
1,291
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Well after staying at carden park for 1 night we were very disappointed so decided to go with the reviews on trip advisor and book our final night in chester at abode. From start to finish it was the most amazing night we have had away so far and we have been many places together. We asked about a room upgrade and got shown around the 6th floor by the lovely girl from reception the room was amazing we couldnt have said no to it. She did all she could to make us feel welcome and comfortable and i cannot thank her enough for that. All staff were first class during our stay. We stayed in the ormonde suite on the 6th floor massive king size bed could fit 3 people in easy i need lost my other half in it it was extremely comfy and we both slept like a baby. The room had a bose sound system and lcd flat screen tv which was lovely. We had a mini bar with complimentary refreshments which was a nice touch. The room had its own balcony you could see all around chester and it looked out onto what i think was the north wales mountains. You could also see the back end of the race course. The view night and day was amazing. As for the bathroom you have a his and hers sink which is very snazzy and the bath and shower are just amazing i didnt want to get out of the bath. After our meal in hickorys that night we went for cocktails on the 5th floor in michael caines champagne bar. The lovely waiter asked us what sort of liquors we liked and explained what cocktails go together nicely. We tried a few of these and they were amazing i cant remember the names of them to recommend but im sure the lovely staff in the bar are more than happy to accomodate you. We would definatly come back to this hotel it was amazing from start to finish and would highly recommend. Hopwfully next time we will be able to stay a little longer and try the michael caine resteraunt too and grill bar too. Thanks very much for making our 1st experience with abode fantastic look forward to coming to chester again soon :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirelassy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Abode = Fresh, new, stylish, quality, fashion. That's what I expected based on their website and what little advanced info I had...

Did it live up to it ? Yes, mostly.

The location - Next to the Racecourse, a short walk into town, but an easy 5 minute bus ride to the station and to the business park... (No 1 in both directions) £20 saved on taxis that can be spent on wine...!

The room... Excellent in all ways... good fittings, good linens, TV + DVD, kettle and filter coffee... Cannot fault it in anyway.

The restaurant and bar... Hmm.. less good. Whoever this michael Cairnes is who puts his name to the burgers and sides..... he should try and eat watery coleslaw served in a porcelain spoon, balanced on a wooden chopping board. Guys, grow up! Don't be so prentious that form losses sight of function.. "Hey, lets make all the chairs have one leg to look alternative!"... Nah... generally good food, in accepatable (but nothing more) surroundings.. but nice poeple serving.

Then breakfast... If you go to the abode website and book the option that includes breakfast... don't expect a boiled egg... That's extra, as is bacon, or anything not from the cold buffet..... The cold buffet which is a long walk with a 10cm diameter plate which barely holds one of their minature croisants... (I jest not). On the plus, coffee was good and fast and juice was big and fresh... But I had to ask them to get butter out... Why ? 3/10 for the breakfast.

Will I stay again? Yes probably... It's a modern place, ideally located for my business trips in a city where hotels arn't cheap. Gotta love the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have balconies that might be a benefit to filthy smokers.... :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night this weekend. It was a last minute booking and we decided to upgrade the room. The first room we had was very disappointing and we wondered if we had actually been allocated the room we paid for. Although the room was a reasonable size it only had a double bed when I really would have expected a king size. The wooden floor was badly scratched by the chair and overall was generally disappointing. When I asked later at reception about the bed size I was informed that most upgraded rooms have a king size bed but may not have a bath. Our room had a bath but if we didn't want a bath we could move rooms! The second room was lovely. It had a king size bed, overlooked the racecourse and had a great bathroom. The hotel staff were polite and helpful and overall gave a really good service but I find it really irritating that we weren't offered the option of a room with no bath for what clearly was much better room. If we had stayed in the first room I definitely wouldn't return to the hotel. However based on the 2nd room I would stay again.

In the evening we ate at Michael Caines restaurant and the food and service was excellent. Definitely worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueGreenhalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went for a valentines break at the abode which include a night stay and an evening meal at the Micheal Caine restaurant and breakfast. We upgraded our room to an enviable as we wanted a room with a bathtub. The room was amazing, ok we didn't get the best view but I was more than happy. The bed was amazing very big and so comfortable. Having the bath in the main room was cool and plenty of room for two people. Breakfast was awesom delivered to the room in a selected fifteen time slot, it arrived bang on time. The room had lots of complimentery toiletries and loads of tea coffee and hot chocolate. Staff were great throughout. One thing I did think was a bit cheeky was £10 per night for parking, when your paying so much for a room it should be included.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmirD930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here last night. Excellent location and staff were very attentive. Has to be the best hotel bed I have ever slept in - fine linen and pillows just right. Lovely views over the racecourse and champagne bar on 5th floor added to our stay. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilloYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had a great night here last weekend. The hotel was one of the best I have ever stayed in. The food in the restuarant kind of topped of the whole day Fantastic! Quality of the service was amazing all the staff deserve a big pat on the back. Loved it that much have already booked the valentines package for me and my partner this weekend. Can't wait!. One word of advice, look out for the car park or you will miss it! Highly recommended hotel a short drive from chester zoo and easy walking distance to chester city centre! Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing