We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Resort”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last Resort”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The service was inefficient and unfriendly. Room service took ages and had to be sent back. The rooms are admittedly modern, but cheaply furnished. The towels seem old and have a slight crunch. Chester is a lovely city with lovely hotels but sadly the Abode in Chester is not one of them. It is however acceptable as a budget option. My advice is to not dine there and bring your own towels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIN587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip N, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly disappointed that we did not meet or indeed exceed your expectations.

I sincerely hope that these incidents have not discouraged you from visiting ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss this matter further.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    634
    295
    88
    54
See reviews for
164
1,294
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay and dinner at Abode in Chester, and thought we have a great deal with 1 night B&B with dinner in the Cafe Bar included for £100 for both of us. Hotel looks great and so did the room really modern with a modern bathroom to match.
Hotel was noisy with other guests coming back late with voices heard in the room and bed was too soft but this is perhaps a personal choice
Dinner was OK just not great and we were a little disappointed as we expected something better with the tie in with Michael Caines.
However breakfast was a disaster, we managed to get a table but people after us were having to wait 15mins + just to be seated. We helped ourself to juice + cereals but continental buffet was almost bare (probably because of what happened next), we had to ask the waiter to take our order, had to chase up the tea & toast and when our cooked breakfast finally arrived it wasnt really worth the wait, just warm and not much of it. We have had better at a £60/night B&B and perhaps that was our mistake and where we should have stayed to get a better service. Wouldn't stay or eat here again in a hurry !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KagsandMildew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed on a Wednesday night and we honestly cant recommend this place enough. We had our evening meal there which was beautiful and such good value for the 2 courses and bottle of wine.The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful on the reception as well as in the restaurant and couldn't do enough to help us. The room itself was perfect with some lovely little touches. I would certainly return especially for the beautiful breakfast. ;D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel flatters to deceive, it looks good on the surface but underneath it feels over priced and un realistic of it's status as one of the best hotels in Chester. I stayed there this weekend with 4 friends in 3 seperate rooms, the rooms were desirable twins with breakfast included. Total price per room was £240 with an additional £10 for parking... Wow, if you set your stall out to be as good as the prices you charge then you need to fulfill that, the rooms were all a little boring, decor and furnishings were not what I would expect for this price. The bathrooms were on the small side, with over the bath shower, that didn't really deliver the power shower experience, more a trickle and a quick run around underneath. The bars and restaurant were both overpriced and badly served by staff. The breakfast was lacklustre, with very slow service and disparity between each of our breakfasts both in quality and quantity. However this was later comped on check out. In summary I feel that we were overcharged for the experience we received, I have stayed in far better hotels for less money ie. The Raddison Edwardian In Manchester for around £140, same star rating, but much better value. The Hilton in Chester (doubletree), is a much better hotel, and the comparisons on price for Friday and Saturday nights were £110 cheaper. Wish we had chosen the Hilton again. The massive plus point for the hotel, is it's location, it could not be better suited for Chester centre and the racecourse.

Room Tip: Go to The Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterGolfBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

nice location, staff could do with some manners, clean comfortable rooms. we had room on the top floor so views were nice but way too pricey,,,,breakfast was ok, but left you feeling hungry, drinks way too pricey, lovely pub just round the corner,

Room Tip: tip.....dont eat in restuarant, lots of nicer eaterees nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is very much an individual hotel. The actual hotel building structure is a half/third of a crescent shape around an inner courtyard. The ‘outer’ side of the crescent has room views onto the frontage opposite various handsome city buildings, law courts etc and the Chester racecourse. The inner rooms overlook a courtyard [modern/enclosed, trees etc.]. The experience here is all about design and quirks, which they achieve quite well. The underground parking is secure and easy to use, albeit when we arrived late evening I had to telephone the hotel to let them know that I was sitting in front of the security screen to the car park. It is genuinely a very well located hotel, few minutes into the city centre shopping and sights. The breakfast [main restaurant] is neat as an experience, on the 5th floor overlooking open scenes onto the racecourse, nice way to start the day. I don’t hesitate in recommending the Abode, but don’t expect a 5-star ‘typical’ / classic / traditional scenario city centre hotel, this is a good package but it IS individual and quirky. It happens to be ‘nice’ quirky, and a good experience that I will use again.

Room Tip: Room choice - race course view -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfyllin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Nice hotel, good location but lacking in value for money. We paid £195 for the room and didn't feel we got our monies worth. We could have stayed at the Premier Inn and got the same standard for a fraction of the price.
Breakfast was ok but again nothing to shout about.
We reserved a parking space and had to pay £10 for it. Not many spaces and quite tight. Not ideal if you have a large SUV.
In general nothing really wrong just didn't get the 'WOW' factor we had hoped for.

Room Tip: Only the expensive ones face the race course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natbarnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing