We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Normally I travel alone but this time my wife joined me on a this trip to England/Wales. I have stayed at rather questionable hotels before in this area but I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to the Abode! Great staff, nice rooms with good enough size, fresh and modern and a great view facing the race course. We have used the front desk quite a bit, and they always help with a smile. We also visited the top floor restaurant with super nice staff, excellent food (without going over the edge of having the food too good…) and great wines!

We have used the wireless free network – with no need to log in – with absolutely no problems. In 2012 this should be true all over the world but it simply isn’t. But here it works like it should!

What else could I ask for? Well, not much. The black bathroom is stylish but I need a little more light for shaving. I can’t think of anything else!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are facing the same direction. Should not make much of a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    609
    276
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,236
38
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

stayed here on a conference rate which was great value, meeting room, overnight stay and dinner included, the hotel was lovely, rooms spacious and quiet. Overall the service was OK but I felt that a bit more teamwork required as it wasn't smooth. Guys bringing coffee to the meeting room were great but had to wait for someone to finish a disupte with another member of staff until I could ask for the drinks. Also rang up in advance to say I don't eat wheat or dairy but a salad would be fine for lunch and a pasta salad arrived. This also happened with dinner where my fish arrived on a bed of pasta, even though they had gone to the special effort of devising a different set menu for me, so not sure what happened there. Check in and check out was very smooth but when I tried to get someone to ring me in my room they just got told I wasn't in my room twice, so in the end they called my mobile. Overall would def recommend this hotel as very nice decor they jst need to concentrate on service. Saw some ladies having the Champagne afternoon tea and that looked fab. There's a gym there too.

Room Tip: pick a room overlooking the race course and surrounding countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halycondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Booked in at last minute. Very well equipped. Very friendly staff. Good breakfasts.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank HoddersHodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend break. The hotel itself is very modern, room layout and facilities very good and location to city centre within two minute walking distance. The first night we decided to eat in hotels ground floor bar,the service was not as we expected. We sat down and had to ask the bartender several times for a menu,we were waiting around 25 minutes before a waitress brought one over. We then waited at least 20 minutes before our order was taken, and this was only after I had gone over to the waitress who was chatting at the bar. When our order came my partner was given something totally different to what he had ordered,my order was supposed to be warm but arrived chilled as if it had come straight out of the fridge,although the bread looked as if it had been partially par grilled. Eventually we got our food but it was very average. All in all the service in the bar most definitely let the hotel down.
The following day, early evening we decided to try a few cocktails in the champagne bar,straight away we thought the customer service may once again let the hotel down! The bartender in the champagne bar struggled to smile and looked as if he really didn't want to be there, he made no effort whatsoever to engage with us in basic etiquette and acknowledgement, it felt like we were forcing him to go out of his way to serve us.
However we had a booking later that evening in the Michael Caine restaurant which restored our faith in the fact that the hotel can offer the customer service that it should do. The service in the restaurant was excellent, our waiter Simon was polite, attentive and made regular check backs to ensure we were happy with our meal. The kitchens were extremely busy due to short staffing and we did have to wait a little longer than normal for our meal, but this did not spoil our experience. The restaurant manager came over to apologise and brought with him a few little taster dishes to pacify our appetites, which we thought was a nice little touch. On the whole the whole experience in the restaurant was second to none. Overall a good stay and we would stay there again but would stay clear of the ground floor bar if we were eating?

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Holimoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

booked a package deal at 159 pounds for one night including parking, breakfast and 2 cousre evening meal (which we chose to take as lunch the next day,
when we arrived the staff were very professional and we had been given upgrade to 6th floor Ormonde suite which turned out to be a fantastic room with balcony and great views over Chester
these rooms have huge bathrooms and showers and small seating area.
the hotel charge £10 for 24 hr parking and is within 10 minute walk to the main shopping streets
breakfast is on the 5th floor in Micheal Caines fine dining room
choice is whatever you like and very good quality
the hotel is part of a horseshoe shaped office complex overlooking the racetrack and could feel weird as the rest of the complex are offices but this is similar to most new build hotels in busy cities and the plus point is the area is very quiet at night.
i would encourage a package stay as this offer was the same cost as a normal rack rate but with breakfast and dinner included.

all in all compared to the Grosvenor (at 280 ave per night) it was far superior albeit a short walk to the shops.
would happily recommend this to anyone staying in Chester,

Room Tip: stayed in the Ormonde suite on 6th floor which has partial views of the racetrack,if it was a normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed as a special occasion with my GF for my birthday. Paid £140 for a luxury room and the staff were good enough to upgrade us to a suite (thanks a lot!).

Brilliant room. Massive. Clean. State of the art tech with free wifi. Really impressed. Had a cast iron bath, wet room, and balcony with furniture on. Unbelievable. Views of te racecourse, Chester castle and the city. Staff were great too.

It's a 1 minute walk into Chester from here, parking isn't as bad as people make out but will cost you a tenner.

I actually cannot fault the place at all, would love to come back for a few days. Well done :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Chester is a great shopping high street which is somewhat covered (good for those rain days). This relatively new very modern hotel is only a few blocks away from main shops. Rooms are outstanding and bathrooms extreme contemporary (I loved it). Best thing is the restaurant, a Michael Caine menu. Excellent Grazing menu, highly recommended. Even for non-vegetarians ask for the vegetarian menu (there isn't one, the chef is please to write one for you on the spot). As per other reviewers I agree the staff at the front desk could do with a "warm personality" boost (I would then give it a 5 rating), but no other issues at all. Perhaps best food possible, good wine list including Billecart-Salmon Rose (the one Fortnum & Mason's uses)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsmacdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing