We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Great Stay! Good Location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay! Good Location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed in Chester, England for a few days for work. One of the locals booked the room and said it was one of the best places to stay in town. The room was nice and spacious enough. The bed slept like a comfy futon. It was fun for a few nights. Get the larger room, don't get the smaller room if staying for more than a few days. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The basic room was kind of small and not a place I'd want to spend a lot of time. Free internet and very friendly staff. Easy walking distance to a lot of good pubs and restaurants. Go to "The Brewery Tap" and "Oddfellows" for a few pints. The "Eagle" is very close and is newly reopened. Good place to stop for one final pints. Cheers.

Room Tip: Don't get a basic room. Ask for a larger room with a view of the horse track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SctsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    609
    276
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,237
38
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed at the Abode for 1 night in February. I informed the hotel it was a special occasion for us and they arranged for us to have a room with a decent view at least, when we arrived at the hotel they had done that and upgraded our room for us so we got one of the bigger Desirable rooms which was probably the most comfortable hotel room I have been in in this country. The bed was massive, the room a perfect temperature all night and we had a very nice breakfast the next morning.

The staff were all very polite and were always willing to do whatever they could to help, including finding us some toothpaste and brushes when we realised we'd both managed to forget ours!

The bar downstairs is nice but expensive - about £4.20 for a pint of San Miguel, it was a nice pint though. Will definitely stay there again if I'm in Chester and fancy a bit of luxury!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Probably the nicest hotel room we've ever stayed in and perfect for a couples break - splashed out on a 'desirable room' and got upgraded also. Great bed, lovely view and no noise. Open plan set up of the bedroom/bathroom was very interesting - loved it personally but very private people might not! The car park is spacious, secure and easily accessible. Staff were extremely polite and helpful. Food at the Cafe Bar and Grill was tasty and good value. Champagne Bar was wonderful but with prices to match, unsurprisingly. Only minor complaint was the bacon at breakfast was really salty! Everything else was fabulous and we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshMamKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I have just returned from a night at this hotel, the rooms are fabulous, very tastefully decorated with lovely touches added, the beds are to die for, so comfortable, the reception staff are very nice, the hotel restaurants were excellent, Michael Caines menus were full of fantastic tasty dishes, the staff in the restaurants were again, very friendly. So pleased i stayed here and will return again.

Room Tip: i stayed in room 117 which has a lovely view of the racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We liked this hotel. All very modern decor, good spaces and great with views out over the racecourse. The food is lovely too, but sized for skinny models rather than long-distance cyclists so if you have a big appetite you maybe ought to go out and get a curry somewhere else! I also like the security cards on all doors and the lift which makes you feel random folk cannot access all areas.

I called to ask how to get into the car park and was wrongly informed. The staff need some training on how to explain the way into the car-park! When you approach, if you are on a dual carriage way (with the city to your left and the hotel visible on your right) you have to double back on yourself at the roundabout and the go down a ramp on your left, behind the hotel. if you don't do that you cannot take the next right and you will find yourself sailing past the race course and on your way to Wales. If you approach from Wales you will be able to turn left into the car park just behind the hotel easily enough.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking over the racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suze58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

well what can i say. The hotel stands proudly on the outskirts of the beautiful city of chester. Extremely secure parking facilities means safe parking for your car (even an R reg polo like mine!!)

Once at reception i was notified that we had been upgraded without extra charge to one of their Enviable rooms. The gent on reception was extremely helpful, explained the facilities to us and then helped us locate the restaurant where i had booked for me and my girlfriend to eat at.

The room?. A-MAAAAZING!. i have not been in a better hotel room! it exuded sheer class and we were both open mouthed as we walked around it. flat screen television with blue ray player, sofa and chair, dressing table, full length mirror and the biggest bed i have ever seen (it took three sets of pillows to cover it side to side!!!). the bathroom had a beautiful free standing bath and shower, with dressing gowns and slippers. laid out on the dressing table was a tuck box containing all sorts of goodies including nuts, crisps, fruit juice and mineral water,

Their bar was also of a high standard. If you like a really good cocktail, then stay at the hotels bar. the friendly staff made us a mojito, strawberry cocktail and lots of white russians and they were all of excellent quality. they helped finish off an amazing night in chester for the two of us.

when it came to checking out the staff were once again great and i was able to leave my car in the car park for as long as i wanted so we could explore chester to our hearts content before heading back home.

want a high quality hotel in chester?. you can't go wrong if you book in here!!!

Room Tip: \if you can afford it, pay for the enviable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caromickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay at the hotel and really didn't want to come home. A lovely Valentines/Birthday presie from my fiance, it really was a perfect stay. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The room was gorgeous, beautifully decorated and has everything you need for your stay. Extra little touches just make the stay even more enjoyable. The location is perfect too. So handy for exploring Chester and just a 5 min walk from the main shopping area with lovely places to eat out. The hotel has it's own parking which is very handy as this can be an issue in Chester. The hotel is also well situated for car journeys to nearby areas. Overall, we had a fantastic stay, we would recommend the hotel to all our friends and we definitely want to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 'Enviable' rooms. So comfortable and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing