We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Chester!”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stay at this hotel every week, on business.
I'm continually impressed by the young, professional staff whose attention to detail and customer-orientation is outstanding. They make you feel welcome, important, and valued. What's not to like?!
Hotel decor is modern and crisp, restaurants are great with good, fresh food, and value for money is excellent.
There are more expensive places to stay in Chester, but the Abode wins my vote time after time.
Stay, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW19Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,054 - 2,060 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed in an 'enviable' room for 1 night. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the bath was gorgeous..... Enjoyed the complementary tuck box....only problem was the air conditioning did not work to start with, but reception soon sorted it for us.
Had one of the best cooked breakfasts I have had, just the right amount and served to you, not a buffet which soo many hotels seem to have gone for now. My only moan would be the view, we looked out over the back at the offices.... Ask for a view of the racecourse. Really close to town and soo quiet. Annoyingly the champagne bar and resteraunts were closed, nothing on website........ Ate at the cafe bar and grill, which was great, best steak I have eaten in a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunloverMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

For my 60th birthday I was treated to a night in this hotel and a 7 course taster meal in the Michael Caines restaurant. The room was ultra modern, immaculate and well appointed. I loved it. If you have a look round you can find on street parking about 10 minutes walk away and save yourself a tenner.
The meal started with a glass of champagne followed by seven courses. The portions are small but by the time youve had all the courses its enough. The standard of the food was exceptional and the service friendly and attentive. Its not cheap but you get what you pay for and overall I rated the experience highly.
Its worth noting that on checkout they add a 12% discretionary service charge to your bill, I had it removed as we had already left a tip in the restaurant. ( This was not a problem.)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside courtroom are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayBee1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for one night back in September. We booked a comfortable room and on arrival were given the option of upgrading to a desirable for only £15 extra, so we did. The room, although beautifully decorated and clean was very small, we were told that in a desirable room you get a larger bed, but i am almost certain it was just a standard double, so was not impressed at all with the upgrade. We also had a balcony to our room (we stayed during the heatwave in Sept) , however it only had one chair and was very narrow, so it was neither use nor ornament really!
This aside the surroundings were lovely and we had a comfortable nights sleep. However the following morning after showering i got locked in the bathroom! The door handle broke so the door would not open and i was stuck in the bathroom for around 20 minutes. Upon checking out we they offered to waiver the upgraded room fee (£15), however we felt this a very poor compensation offering due to the humiliation suffered whilst the handy man shouts 'are you covered up love?' upon entering the bathroom with a crow bar!!
Breakfast was lovely, however slightly rushed due to the delay experienced in the bathroom.
Overall not overly impressed with the hotel.

Room Tip: Dont upgrade from comfortable to desirable- apparently you get a bigger bed and either a bath or a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We love this hotel. It's modern and comfortable and the car park is convenient (£10 day). It is walking distance to Chester city centre. We need to come to Chester often for business and we have already stayed here twice and will be coming back in November (trying a Comfortable room). The first stay was in a Desirable room with no bathtub but great view of the racecourse. The walk in shower was great. The room and bathroom were spacious, and the working area (desk and chair) were comfortable. Free wi-fi… yes! The bed was very large with the only minor issue being the mattress was too soft. Lots of lovely pillows though! The second stay was also in a Desirable room but with a bathtub and overhead shower and a view of the road. The mattress was firmer this time, which we preferred. The bathroom has an opaque glass door which is a nice feature. Some minor issues with the bathroom are the toilet seat and loo roll holder. The holder is located in an awkward spot and you have to reach back to unroll, causing the roll to slip off the holder and fall to the floor. It was the same issue at Abode Exeter a few years ago. It would make things less awkward if the holder wasn't open ended. Also, the toilet seats (same in both rooms) are narrow and uncomfortable. Housekeeping was good but could be better, as the bin below the desk was not emptied on one of the stays and the decorative pillows and covers had lint on them. The hotel provides nice toiletries (love the grapefruit scents) and the cookies in the tea/coffee-making facilities are absolutely delicious. Good lighting design and suitably located power points and mirrors. Good quality towels and lots of shelf space in the bathroom. Proper hangers in the wardrobe…. thank you! There was an issue with the room door which we reported upon check out and were assured that maintenance would look into it. Staff at reception were very welcoming, courteous and efficient. We did not try the food as we chose to skip breakfast on both stays. It is also worth mentioning that the Michael Caines restaurant on the 5th floor is closed on Sundays.

Room Tip: If a bathtub is not important to you, ask for a Desirable room with a walk-in shower and view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I booked Abode as a surprise for my husband after having a fantastic dining experience with friends in Manchester. However, although the food was excellent we were a bit dissatisfied with the rest of our experience. We asked if our table booking could be put back to 8pm but was told we couldn't be accommodated till later so we kept our 7.30pm booking. However when we arrived there was only a couple of tables occupied and only one lady arrived after us who's order was taken and eaten before our starter arrived (just after 8.15). The waiter apologised for the delay explaining there was a lot of room service orders which made us feel a little insignificant. There were also a couple of issues with the room which were dealt with but all in all we were sorry for our choice of venue to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: our room was on the roadside but you could not hear the traffic at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

ABode is a new hotel overlooking the racecourse with basement parking (for an additional fee). We booked fairly late and got a very good b & b rate on a bank holiday weekend.

The cooked breakfast - that is cooked to order - is fantastic, particularly the corned beef hash with poached egg, which was the best I've tasted. The rooms are pretty nice too!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,645 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $105 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing