We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary special”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
rossendale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“anniversary special”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I booked Abode as a surprise for my husband after having a fantastic dining experience with friends in Manchester. However, although the food was excellent we were a bit dissatisfied with the rest of our experience. We asked if our table booking could be put back to 8pm but was told we couldn't be accommodated till later so we kept our 7.30pm booking. However when we arrived there was only a couple of tables occupied and only one lady arrived after us who's order was taken and eaten before our starter arrived (just after 8.15). The waiter apologised for the delay explaining there was a lot of room service orders which made us feel a little insignificant. There were also a couple of issues with the room which were dealt with but all in all we were sorry for our choice of venue to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: our room was on the roadside but you could not hear the traffic at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    638
    297
    89
    55
See reviews for
166
1,306
40
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

ABode is a new hotel overlooking the racecourse with basement parking (for an additional fee). We booked fairly late and got a very good b & b rate on a bank holiday weekend.

The cooked breakfast - that is cooked to order - is fantastic, particularly the corned beef hash with poached egg, which was the best I've tasted. The rooms are pretty nice too!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed in May2011 for a special birthday. Ordered champage and chocs in room which were nice. Room large, but too hot - although the sheets were ventillated due to the holes in them! Had a fabulous dinner at nearby Chez Jules. Breakfast next day was dreadful. Baked goods, ie croissant etc were completely cold and didn't seem fresh. Smoothie was actually warm, with condensation on the inside of the jug. I asked if it was supposed to be and got a grunt. Had a yoghurt and it stung my tongue and was bubbly - probably gone off as they were not refridgerated and most likely brought out morning after morning. Also tried the cooked brekky, but not too keen on rubbery poached egg with solid yoke so not impressed their either. I did comment at the time and e-mailed a complaint. They've offered me a free room upgrade next time. What 'next time'!!! As if I'd stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JC_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as I was attending a wedding in the city centre. I don't think you could get much closer! The location is perfect, with all of chester within walking distance.
Every part of the stay was floorless, from the reservation right through to the departure.
What the room didn't have in a view (it looked over the courtyeard in the centre) it made up for in style, a massive bed and beautiful decor.
All of the staff were warm and happy, and conversation was genuine and not forced. Breakfast was lovely, as much or as little as you would lie to eat, with the hot food being served to your table - very nice!
All in all a very enjoyable stay, would definitly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

A luxury hotel at budget prices. The location is a 5 minute walk from the main street in Chester. The hotel overlooks the racecourse and has panoramic views from the restaurant. The rooms are spectacular, the decor is superb with flat screen tv, digital tv and and a dvd player. The bathroom in our room was ultra modern with lots of complementary toiletries. Breakfast was included with our deal and was a welcome change from the usual buffet set up. Alongside the self service cereals/fruit/cold meats etc we were given a choice from the main menu. We both opted for Eggs Benedict which was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. One tiny drawback was that the car park is not clearly signposted and was difficult to find. This is something that can be remedied quite easily. I would strongly recommend the Abode to anyone visiting Chester, especially if you want something a bit different without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

That's a big claim but this was special. We booked in to cheer ourselves up after having a holiday to Italy cancelled at the last minute. We chose the Abode because we'd enjoyed it on previous occasions. This time we were spoiled. From our first phone contact the service was fantastic. We were upgraded to a brilliant suite for a really reasonable premium and made the most of a superbly appointed room with fantastic views, bathroom, AV, bed and furnishings. Food was fantastic, but our overriding impression was of the sheer quality of every member of staff we encountered. Chester is a great place to stay with everything from Liverpool to the Welsh coast within easy reach, and the Abode is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutmeister123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed in adobe for two nights. Overall is a good hotel with quite good service and nice breakfast, but what I disliked about adobe is that windows can't get opened and air circulates inside the building, so I woke up both mornings with a headache.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotyusya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing