We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Spectacular hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

A luxury hotel at budget prices. The location is a 5 minute walk from the main street in Chester. The hotel overlooks the racecourse and has panoramic views from the restaurant. The rooms are spectacular, the decor is superb with flat screen tv, digital tv and and a dvd player. The bathroom in our room was ultra modern with lots of complementary toiletries. Breakfast was included with our deal and was a welcome change from the usual buffet set up. Alongside the self service cereals/fruit/cold meats etc we were given a choice from the main menu. We both opted for Eggs Benedict which was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. One tiny drawback was that the car park is not clearly signposted and was difficult to find. This is something that can be remedied quite easily. I would strongly recommend the Abode to anyone visiting Chester, especially if you want something a bit different without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    609
    276
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,236
38
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

That's a big claim but this was special. We booked in to cheer ourselves up after having a holiday to Italy cancelled at the last minute. We chose the Abode because we'd enjoyed it on previous occasions. This time we were spoiled. From our first phone contact the service was fantastic. We were upgraded to a brilliant suite for a really reasonable premium and made the most of a superbly appointed room with fantastic views, bathroom, AV, bed and furnishings. Food was fantastic, but our overriding impression was of the sheer quality of every member of staff we encountered. Chester is a great place to stay with everything from Liverpool to the Welsh coast within easy reach, and the Abode is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutmeister123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed in adobe for two nights. Overall is a good hotel with quite good service and nice breakfast, but what I disliked about adobe is that windows can't get opened and air circulates inside the building, so I woke up both mornings with a headache.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotyusya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Staying for two nights to celebrate our anniversary, my wife and I had the perfect stay. A very clean and comfortable room with a relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel. The room rate was very reasonably priced for such a well located hotel. It is walkable from the train station on a nice day or about £3.50 in a taxi. The staff were excellent and clearly went out of their way to make sure every last need was catered for.

I noted that other reviews focus on the size of the breakfast. I can see how some might feel the portion size is a little small although it wasn't too lacking for me personally. The menu offers a good choice and the produce used gave the impression of quality. The cold buffet which compliments the cooked food had a good selection also for people to complement their meal with. Perhaps people may be disgruntled at the cost (£10 if booked in advance) but it is a hotel breakfast which are always on the dearer side and part of what you pay for is the convenience.

We dined in the fine dining restaurant twice - once for lunch on arrival and once for dinner on our second night. If taking lunch here, take advantage of the Amazing Grazing deal which is very good value. The wine list is interesting as is the cocktail menu. Staff are knowledgable, professional and courteous. Food was of a consistently high standard throughout (try the banana souffle - it's to die for).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apicius A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
359 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

we stayed for one night in connection with a special meal presented by Michael Caines and the executive chef at the restaurant, the room package was a bargain , cheaper than a Premier Inn. The room was smart and very comfortable and the meal or whole evening was likewise a memorable experience. Delays at check out rush hour as most seemed on business. The operation lacked finesse which will come with time and atmosphere is a bit lacking again something which will fall in place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Really nice modern hotel, our room had a balcony which we didn't expect as we only paid £79! Brilliant location with views looking over the racecourse,cannot fault the service or amenities. There's a lovely restaurant and cool bar ( treated ourselves to a champagne cocktail) wow!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Abode this September.

The service is second to none and I have to praise Andrew on reception for all his help during our stay.

The rooms were lovely, we had a desirable room with a balcony. Lovely views and it felt quite special to have it. The shower was big and the whole bathroom is stylish and the lighting was good. The bed was so comfortable I wish I could have brought it home!

The only thing that let it down was some rips in the bed covers, big enough to get a couple of fingers in which you wouldn't expect in a place like this.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bek27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing