We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay, if everyone got what we did there wouldn't be a single bad review.”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed August 13, 2011

On arrival to the hotel we were told that the room wasn't quite ready for us, but this is because we were early yet the hotel still took our bags from us and led us into the bar for complimentary drinks to await our room. After 10 mins we were told that instead of waiting for the room to be readied they were going to upgrade us from an Enviable room to an Enviable room plus! The room was stunning and spotless. Great ambient lighting, decor and fresh linen. Check my pics to see for yourself. Complimentary slippers and gown plus a nice snack pack with a free morning paper, what more could you ask for? Fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobLeeSwa33er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,040 - 2,046 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed for one night after reading the tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is ideally located for shopping, sightseeing and the river cruises. Local bars and restaurants were only a short walk away.
This is an extremely modern and efficiently managed hotel. All of the staff were friendly and attentive. In particular the reception staff.
On arrival we encountered a small problem with the door in our room leading to the balcony. Normally we wouldn't mention anything but decided to on this occasion. We are very glad we did! The immediate response from the receptionist was to apologise and upgrade us to 'Desirable' room, which was extremely spacious and had excellent views over the racecourse.
Everywhere in this hotel was immaculately clean and every single staff member was eager to help and please at every turn.
If we were to pick any fault it would be the problem of access to the hotel entrance if you arrive by car. There is limited on site secure parking but to find out about it, we needed to park in a bus stop some yards from the hotel entrance and make enquiries at reception. There is a lovely paved area in front of the hotel but part of this, in our opinion,would be better used as a drive through area so that at least you can pull in and make enquiries etc.
Breakfast was really tasty and served in fantastic surroundings but it is not for those who like a hearty full English to set them up for the day. This was very much style and quality over quantity and value for money.
That said, if, like us, you prefer modern, stylish surroundings, with clean lines and state of the art facilities, then this is the place for you and not overly priced to boot!
If you are looking for places to wine and dine in the evening, We would strongly recommend the Amber Lounge and Bar Lounge. Both were close to the hotel and full of character.
We had a great time in Chester with the visit enhanced by the friendly, attentive staff not only at the hotel but all the places we visited. Would definitely recommend the Abode hotel if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the racecourse. These are quieter, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janmar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have jst got back from a stay at Abode. We were upgraded to a desireable room which was large and bright, with modern fixtures. The pictures on the website are a true reflection of the room we had. Just one tip... don't forget to turn off your air conditioning before you go to bed. It sounds like a washing machine if you wake up to it in the middle of the night!! We opted for room only and found plenty of places to have breakfast in the City Centre. The Hotel is in an ideal location altough not easy to get to by car from the instructions or with our satnav. It is right on a round about, which is the tricky part and the car park entrance didn't exactly stand out. But don't let that put you off! Secure underground parking was ideal but cost £10 per night. We ate in the Michael Caines Restaurant on Fifth. We chose the grazing menu, smaller portions of the A la carte, and we were not disappinted. The food was Amazing!!!!!! The staff throughout the hotel are very frindly. The only negative I can find is that a 12% service charge is automatically added to the bill in the Restaurant. It says that it is for you to consider, but I felt that I could not ask for it to be taken off after the superb service from the staff. It did eat into our budget slightly (£15 tip...let's jsut hope the staff see some of it). The prices shown on the website for the food and wine are what you will get at the hotel, so no surprises there. We will definately return.

Room Tip: Ask!!! I emailed for a room with a good view and asked about the cost of an upgrade. We got it for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holmsey1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Had 3 nights at the Abode recently. Found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful, our room was large, comfortable and well equipped. Ate in the Michael Caine restaurant on the Saturday night, and thought the food was excellent, but ate again on the Monday and had the fixed price menu which we found very limiting. Did not fancy any of the starters so had a dessert, Baked Alaska, which was very disappointing. It was still frozen and looked and tasted just like Wallls Arctic Roll! I did complain, but to no effect. Wine very expensive too.
Would definitely return another time as the location was great for a city visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

As a young couple in our early 20's we stayed at the Abode Hotel in Chester to experience the shopping & nightlife of Chester. The hotel is in a perfect location - a two minute walk into town where you can find all the shops, bars, restaurants and cafe's!! We stayed in a 'Desirable Room' which was very spacious and the bathroom was superb! The only downside was that we had two single beds instead of a double which we would have preferred. We dined at the Michael Caine's restaurant which was very romantic & had excellent views over the racecourse. It was very expensive & not a great deal of options on the menu but it was an experience we had never had before and the food & service was great. All the staff in the hotel were very polite, ordered a taxi for us into town & gave us tips on where to go. I would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobshki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Booked a one night stay - wished we could have stayed a week. The hotel was super. Reception staff were courteous and efficient. Our room overlooked the racecourse. The room was comfortable and clean. Furnishings were modern. Room was well stocked etc. The bar / brasserie was fine but the gem was the champagne bar and restaurant with the balcony. I admired the surroundings and kept forgetting that I was about to be eating in such a wonderful restaurant. The food was splendid. ( a further review to come).
Breakfast was very good too - many hotels fall down here but not this one.

Room Tip: some have super views over the racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neptune24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our room was ready earlier than expected so we checked in just after 12pm. Reception staff were very courteous and helpful. The room itself was light, airy and clean, with a view towards the city. The bed was huge and very comfortable although the pillows were overly plump and could have been a little flatter if I was to try pick fault.

The hotel is really well located, right next to the racecourse and just 5 mins walk into the centre of Chester. We started our evening with cocktails on the balcony of the bar on the 5th floor with it's great views. Expensive drinks but great for a treat!

We stayed on a room only basis and when making morning tea, realised that we didn't have any milk. One call to reception and we had a jug of fresh milk within 5 mins.

Yes, the carpark wasn't brilliantly signposted, and it cost £10 however, it was secure, well lit and very convenient.

We would definitely return to Abode in Chester and have no reservations in recommending it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JantusP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,758 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,548 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $102 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing