We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Restaurant”

Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.chestertourist.com/pubs_rectory.htm
York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Quality Restaurant”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were visiting Chester Cathedral when we noticed this inviting looking restaurant nearby so we popped in for some light lunch. Met in a friendly manner and escorted to a quiet corner as requested. Food ordering handled efficiently and order quickly delivered to our table. Food of good quality and coffee excellent as well. Overall a good experience for the relatively quick visit we made.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigeryork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    9
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value cocktails!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visited Chester for a long weekend and came a couple of times to the Rectory for pre- dinner cocktails and lunch on one day.
The cocktails are great and brilliant value as 241 all day. Staff serving drinks very friendly, helpful and attentive. Location is lovely and nice outdoor seating area.
We only had a platter for lunch but this was great (though did find this quite expensive)- seem to be a lot of offers on and if we had stayed longer sure we would have come again. Hard to comment much on the atmosphere as we went at quiet times however felt very relaxed and friendly each time we visited.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meggie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
“Go Find It!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Visited The Rectory with friends for food after the races and there was something for everyone on the menu, the food was lovely and the staff kept coming over to check everything was ok for us. I have been again in the day time with my 13 year old daughter for lunch and she loved their homemade chips and I enjoyed the tea, served in a china tea pot just for me! Planning on trying out their cocktails next races evening :-)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalesS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

After walking the wall my husband and I discovered this lovely restaurant perfect timing for lunch. We both were so impressed with the food and the service. We both agreed it was the best meal we have had since arriving in England over a week ago. The atmosphere and staff was so pleasant. Perfect location close to shopping. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brenda49th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your money...”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

All started ok as we were 'sort of' promptly seated and given the menu, after a comfortable amount of time our order was taken, two afternoon teas.

About 40min later... We asked if they had got the order right as we had been sitting with our tea for 15min without sandwiches or scones. Soon after the tiered plates came with scones, baklava and some other middle eastern looking sweets (not quite what you would expect with your afternoon tea!) and of course, the sandwiches.

Funny enough they forgot to bring out plates and cutlery, and of couse... the clotted cream for the scones. A different waitress must of realized their error as about 5min later she came out with clotted cream, we did at this point ask for plates and cutlery. I should mention that the teacups and teapots could of done with a real scrub as they were covered with tea stains, quite unappealing to say the least.

This could have been prepared in less then 10min and the place was nearly empty! The sandwiches were extremely basic, made with cheap bread, margarine and quite obviously cheap selection of fillings like salted ham, grated cheese with tomato and a very very salty gravadlax. Being Swedish, I know what gravadlax should taste like. The foreign sweet selection were, ok... what one would probably like if in mood for baklava. The scones, which were very dry but still easily the best part of the whole dining 'experience'.

A few minutes later, a bypassing chav decided to pee against the cathedral bell-tower, angering a fellow customer. They shouted insults at each other for a good while.

For £10 per person I would expect something similar or even better then what you get at Patisserie Valerie for just £7. Don’t let the setting and exterior of The Rectory fool you, don’t waste your money here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BoringCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rectory Bar and Restaurant Chester also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing