We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hospitality”
Review of Rowland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowland House
Ranked #21 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb Hospitality”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is an absolute gem, just off the centre of beautiful Chester and right next to the University. We were visiting our grandaughter and received exceptional hospitality. Very comfortable and clean bedroom, great breakfast and ample car parking. We returned from town soaked to the skin and our host, Beryl, insisted in drying our clothes so that they were ready by morning. Superb value and a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
84
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LINCS
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been visiting and staying in hotels the past 2 years whilst my daughter has been at the university of chester and have basically got fed up with the level of service and standard of accomodation in these so called 4 star hotels. So having read the reviews of Rowland house I decided to give it a try and boy I was not disapointed. Beryl the owner was a fanstasic host , we received a very warm welcome, the room was nicely furnished & spotlessly clean. Nice little touches such as toiletries (even makeup remover wipes) & china cups & saucers shows that it is deserving of the four star rating it holds. A delicious cooked breakfast is served on fine china crockery. We were so impressed by our visit we have booked again for next year. We can highly recommend Rowland House & look forward to our next stay. Thank you Beryl.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TUDDSLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This B&B is excellent to say the least. What makes it such a great place to stay in is above all, Mrs.Rowland's hospitality. She catered very well for our 1 year old too. I know that she went out of her way to accomodte us in the best way possible. We were 5 people in all including our baby and occupied two rooms which were very clean, and had all necessities. The house is situated very close to the centre and in a safe area. We will surely be visitng again. Thanks Beryl

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Have just left the B&B this morning; unusually for my boyfriend and I as we rather stay in hotels, but wanted to be close to the racecourse. As others stated, close to city centre and the racecourse with a couple of parking spaces. Nice and friendly host. Very comfortable and clean room with large TV and a modern ensuit bathroom. Shampoo, hairdryer, makeup removal items etc all provided as well as coffee/tea facilities and buiscuits. We had a good English breakfast in the morning including fresh raspberries and orange juice. We've enjoyed our stay, thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KariiinaYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Rowland House is ideally situated, only 7 minutes easy walk to Chester Town Centre. On site parking is a real bonus leaving you free to explore Chester on foot. A very warm welcome by Beryl, creates a lovely atmosphere. The accomodation is of the highest quality, with the rooms being very clean and lovely decorated. Electrical points are well placed and correspond with mirrors and lighting. Added touches on the dressing table and bathroom provide a real home from home feeling. Breakfast was fantastic, having opted for the full English, it was beautifully cooked and piping hot. Beryl was extremely helpful and knowledgeable not only about Chester but the surrounding area. We will defintely be going back and would recommend to anyone visiting Chester

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our second visit and the standard is still up there with the best. We wanted to visit Chester Zoo so the obvious B&B was Rowland House. We were extremely lucky to get one night 31/8/12 (which happened to be our 49th Wedding Anniversary) We would have stayed longer but as usual this is a very popular guest house. Mrs Rowland is the perfect host and her house is absolutely spotless and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble and with an excellent breakfast to send us on our way we visited Tatton Park on our way home. Nice little break and very lucky with the weather.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11EmJaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

On arrival we got to our room which was furnished very nice and extremely clean.
All little extras like toiletries,cotton wool face wipes etc.
Mrs rowland was very helpful with any requests and information that we required.
In th morning we had breakfast which was delicous. Excellent choice and very quick service.
We would definatly return here i would prefer this to any large hotel as you feel like your at home.
Thanks again mrs rowland we hope to.see you again.
Lauren and Kate

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#20 of 44 in Chester
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,071 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chester Stone Villa
Chester Stone Villa
#2 of 79 in Chester
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowland House

Property: Rowland House
Address: 21 Walpole Street, Chester CH1 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing