We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Rowland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowland House
Ranked #19 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Lovely warm greeting, warm but well-ventilated, spacious rooms, fluffy duvet and pillows, plenty of tea, coffee, milk etc, lots of high quality toiletries, excellent shower. The cleanest B&B I've ever been in. Tasty breakfast. Beryl is a warm host and extremely helpful - she certainly went "the extra mile" in helping us. Wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodandtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
84
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Rowland House was a great stay very close to the Northgate of the old walls of Chester. Beryl could not have been more helpful. The rooms were quiet and comfortable and even the recommendation we received for somewhere to eat (The Pied Bull) proved a great call. A delicious breakfast set us off on our way. If I was to offer any suggestion at all it would be to invest in a couple of cafetierres rather than instant coffee but this was a very minor point. All told a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfrommelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Having stayed for one night whilst at Chester races early in May my wife was completely over the moon at my choice of guest house. Beryl, thanks for making our short stay so enjoyable and it is a credit to you for the great room, lovely breakfast and personality. Thank you, we had a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Beryl was a superb host, very hospitable and helpful. Nothing was too much to ask. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable, and a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit and cooked breakfast made a great start to our days in Chester.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomsons09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were made very welcome by Beryl. Nothing was too much trouble, even allowing us to leave our car in the driveway for a few hours on the day of our departure so that we could visit the city again. The rooms were large, easily accommodating our luggage, and beautifully decorated. And the beds were the most comfortable on our trip away. And the breakfast was good. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyntonjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Rowland House and only wished we could have stayed for more than one day, but will definitely go back. Mrs Rowland is a lovely lady and full of helpful advice where to eat, visit etc. Our room was large and comfortable with lots of extra's to make our stay even more special. The breakfast very nice with lots of choice if wanting a more healthier breakfast. Chester is great and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Chester, made more special by Beryl. Our room was lovely, the breakfast was excellent. The location is very handy for walking into the Chester, as Rowland house is only about 5 minutes from the Northgate.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which has a huge bed and a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowland House

Property: Rowland House
Address: 21 Walpole Street, Chester CH1 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing