We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lokin good under new ownership”
Review of Blue Moon Cafe - CLOSED

Blue Moon Cafe
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Retro 1950's and 1960's 'mini museum' of original memorabilia. Situated on the riverside with outside seating that enjoy's panoramic views of the river. We are open every day, come rain or shine, from 10.00Am for Coffee, Tea, Breakfast, Lunch or simply a light bite.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lokin good under new ownership”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've been coming here for years because it's in such a great location. Under new ownership, it has an improving feel and is smarter and cleaner with new ideas rolling out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fourways48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    18
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch by the river”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have visited the Blue Moon for many years and always found it excellent, so we were very sorry to hear of its recent woes. We called yesterday, without having read the recent reviews, and had a lovely lunch looking out over the River Dee. We both chose the "small fish & chips" option and at £4.95 it is very good value. The fish was far from small, freshly fried, crisp and piping hot. Good chips, choice of garden or mushy peas, tartare sauce and bread & butter. What a good choice that was on a chilly day. The coffees were also very good.
The service was excellent and very friendly, and the cafe as good as we remember. Best of luck to the new owners - we will be back next time we're in Chester.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great improvment”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I go to this cafe a lot and over the last few months the quality and cleanlyness has slipped and the staff did not seem to want to be there I went in to the cafe on Tue it was very busy I now it has just been taken over it is amazing how quick the new owner has improved the hole feeling of the cafe in a few days its is clean and the coffee is much more nicer and it is still the same staff they seem much more happy to be there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rowingmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went to this cafe on Sunday sat outside at the side of the river what a great view we had already eaten but got talked into a slice of lemon drizzle cake be the man behind the bar and a glass of wine or 2 this restrant is very friendly and the service is the best I have seen in a long time they even made my dog feel welcome with a big bowl of warter I will be back keep up the good work

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allaspectsfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The reviews are right”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Apart from being able to sit by the river I found nothing to recommend this place. The coffee, when it eventually arrived was luke warm and the bacon sandwich was the worse that I have ever been given.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleep_deprived_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sar011, Owner at Blue Moon Cafe, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Sincere apologies that your visit at The Blue Moon was less than satisfactory. We have recently taken over (Sat 2nd March) and are working very hard to improve standards across the board whilst remaining open. I do hope you will visit us again, and please alert a member of the team should you have any issues again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Cafe also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing