We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gate of India

Gate of India
Ranked #90 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Licensed Tandoori Restaurant, Fully Air Conditioned, Soft Music and Easy Parking. Takeaway service available. 10 % discount on takeaway meals before 11pm. We serve the best Indian and English Cuisine. Tandoori Dishes our speciality. Special arrangement for Banquets, Parties, Weddings etc. All prices include VAT.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We came across this restaurant so hadn't booked a table, staff very accommodating, got a table straight away. The restaurant was busy all the time and they were busy with takeaways too. The food was lovely and we didnt have to wait too long. Would visit again if visiting chester.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    87
    32
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Im indian n felt like a nice spicy curry.. this place was standard.. service was poor... food was a typical curry house in uk.. im from birmingham n if you made a curry like that you would be closed with in weeks

Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Second time we have eaten here and not disappointed. I would agree with previous reviews that although the staff were friendly they did look a bit bored and stood around watching. The food was lovely, large portions and they very happily gave us our leftover nan and curries to take away. Good value and central location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant as we were looking for another Indian restaurant down the street... We decided that Gate of India looked better, so we gave it a shot. The food was excellent! The waiter gave us recommendations and was very friendly. If I ever am back in Chester, I will definitely go here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbrodeur8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“GOOD CURRIES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Came here with a small group last week and was very pleased with the food and the service. Poppadoms were fresh and we were given some free dips. I had the shashlik which was very good, plenty of chicken, peppers and onions and the salad and rice were both prepared well. I'd recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tunners556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gate of India also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Gate of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing