We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great”
Review of Gate of India

Gate of India
Ranked #85 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Licensed Tandoori Restaurant, Fully Air Conditioned, Soft Music and Easy Parking. Takeaway service available. 10 % discount on takeaway meals before 11pm. We serve the best Indian and English Cuisine. Tandoori Dishes our speciality. Special arrangement for Banquets, Parties, Weddings etc. All prices include VAT.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great food, excellent service. I've been to this restaurant at least a dozen times and never had a bad experience yet. The food is always well prepared and the service is fantastic. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    89
    34
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family friendly great service”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Been this evening with husband and three children. The service was great and staff spent time to chat with us. They also advised us that we had ordered too much as there portion sizes are quite large so they reduced the order accordingly. Food arrived swiftly. Would recommend this restaurant to families and would definately return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great indian food, great service”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great value for money, always busy, huge portions, great choice. 5 mins walk from The Mill Hotel and within 10 mins from city centre. We always eat here when we're in Chester :-)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aitch_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic Curry House”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I've been going here for over 5 years and it is generally recognised as one of the best Curry Houses in Chester. It''s certainly not Brasserie style Indian Cuisine, it's got the music, the booths and a great buzzing atmosphere!

Staff are great and helpful with the menu and are happy to recommend or make changes to dishes to suit.

The quality of the food is always great, as it's been said before you just can't fault them

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaunD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We visited in March 2012 for my boyfriends birthday. The food was excellent and potions were more than enough. I'm not a massive fan of Indian but this was good. My only criticism is that I found even a 'mild' was very spicy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MooseJawSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gate of India also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Gate of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing