We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical Gem!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walls of Chester

Walls of Chester
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.34*
and up
Chester Independent Day Trip by Train from London
Ranked #2 of 92 things to do in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chester UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historical Gem!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's on the way to work, so I can't really avoid it. However the first time I came to Chester, I walked the walls and was impressed by the sense of past which grabs you at ever twist and turn. Take the time to pop into the Tourist Information Centre by the Town Hall and pick up a worksheet to accompany your walk, this will bring the walls to life.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JASChesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,465
    1,344
    186
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So much to take in..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Chester walls are fascinating - stepping back in time. Would suggest having a guided tour from tourist information office - very helpful. Walls about 2 miles to walk with information all the time en route. Take a good camera and enjoy the wonderful views from up high.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bibi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
641 reviews
365 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Nice Stroll along the walls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

These walls go around a portion of the city. You can view the river from the top, see the clock tower, and at some points, there are turrets. I did not do the entire circuit, but the short portion that I did was worthwhile. This is a cute city. You can view the amphitheatre from these walls.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice walk around a beautiful city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want to see Chester, this is how you do it. The walls are about 2 miles in length and if done properly will take you around an hour to see it all. It takes you around what was Roman-Chester with information points and the highlight of the journey is standing at EastGate underneath the famous clock, looking out over to Foregate Street on one side and Eastgate Street on the other.

Minor renovations may deter from the experience at the moment however don't hesitate to go on the walk anyway.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Well worth doing the complete circuit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I'd covered part of the walls the previous day, during a guided city walk. That had taken me a short distance either side of the celebrated Eastgate Clock and offered a view over the Roman Amphitheatre. The next day, despite rain, I decided to do the entire circuit. This meant that I also got to see the missing part of the walls (where you are taken along the river for a short distance), the racecourse and various towers and information boards. The section around Eastgate Clock is probably the best bit but there's definitely worthwhile stuff to see on the rest of the circuit too, and you can't really say you've done the walls until the lap is complete!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pawprint2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walls of Chester also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Walls of Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing