We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under repair!!!”
Review of Walls of Chester

Walls of Chester
Book In Advance
More Info
$170.48*
and up
Chester Independent Day Trip by Train from London
More Info
$9.91*
and up
30-minute City Cruise on River Dee in Chester
Ranked #3 of 93 things to do in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“under repair!!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A lovely leisurely walk along the city walls, sadly some of it was closed for repair. A 'ghost walk' is available on Saturday evenings, 7.30pm

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig6773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,707
    1,471
    211
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable walk”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A very enjoyable walk, plenty of information once you're on the walls. A bit disappointed as part of the walk was closed for maintenance, but we did go off season and understand the work needs to be done sometime.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“View the town from on high”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent way to view this historic town and getting to know your way around by walking the walls for free.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phidel4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnmoney, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just a gorgeous place!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I am 24, and have been visiting Chester, almost annually, with my family, since the age of 4. We honestly adore this city. Coming from Northern Ireland (unfortunately), Chester is like Heaven to us. We literally love everything about it. The city's Roman walls, in superb condition, offering a fabulous walk around the city, the Medieval Rows (full of quirky shops at first-floor level above the streets), the cobbled streets, the Cathedral (and its lovely Refectory), the Old Fashioned Sweet Shop, the gorgeous Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel (our annual stop), the lovely Grosvenor Park, the handbridge over the River Dee....I could go on. If you have never been to Chester before...WHY NOT!! It is honestly my favourite place in the world. I hope to live there someday soon. We visited as a family in July, and my mum and I have booked a four-night stay in the Blossoms for November, all being well, to do some Christmas Shopping. This city is a true love of mine. BOOK A STAY THERE NOW!!! :-)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MayFairQueenBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Uplifting”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

On a sunny day there is nothing nicer than walking the walls, looking over at the river and the Roman ruins and even the parts where you leave the wall are interesting, walking by the canal and the racecourse.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterJeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walls of Chester also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Walls of Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing