We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Convivio Chester

Convivio Chester
Ranked #107 of 561 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Convivio, we are committed to using the freshest and highest quality ingredients we can source. Where possible, we use local, organic produce, attending the wholesale market ourselves each week so that we can hand-pick our ingredients rather than having to rely on suppliers to choose these for us. Only this way can we ensure the high quality of the ingredients we use. Our customers mean a lot to us and we want to give you the best! We also want to offer you a truly Mediterranean flavour and eating experience at Convivio. Not only do we use the best dried pasta but our ravioli is home-made and, as an Italian customer put it recently, "as good as anything you will find in Italy" Our skilled Italian pizzaiolo produces, quite simply, the tastiest, most authentic pizza. Truly mouth-watering pizzas made with freshly kneaded dough that has been stretched by hand and baked in our signature stone oven made by specialist Italian artisans. This stone oven is used to bake fresh bread every day We can reassure you that unlike bought-in bread used by many other restaurants, our bread is as fresh as it can be. It is also good for you, being free from additives and preservatives.
North Wales, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This wasn't our first visit but will probably be our last.
The restaurant itself is lovely but the service and food we found to be nothing special. My husband and I both chose starters and whilst we were eating our starters the waiter came up to our table and asked us if we had finished although it was obvious as we were still eating and had half the starters still on our plates but it made us feel we had to rush as our main course was ready. For our main course we had both chosen pasta dishes which we found to be very bland and to be honest we've had much better at the Pizza Express down the road.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Williams015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    126
    79
    76
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely building, average food, overpriced drinks, poor service..”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a really nice building and has a nice feel to it, we had a lovely greeting and went upstairs for a drink in the bar before eating. Unfortunately the drinks were just too expensive, a small glass of Prosecco was £8.95 and Champagne going up to £20 per glass...wines were expensive too and we thought that was a real bad point of this place. The food menu was petty good, ranging from pasta starting from £10 to steaks at over £30. Service in the restaurant was poor, only saw the waiter once to order drinks and food together and then had to flag one down to get the bill. The food didnt make up for it either, it was average at best. Won't be returning....much better places to spend quite a lot of money!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Woody22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went to Convivio for a birthday/wedding anniversary meal, started in the lounge bar with several champagne cocktails and then escorted to our table downstairs. This restaurant is beautifully put together, plenty of room, tasteful decor, open kitchen and amazing food. Their pasta dishes are as good as you would get in Italy and really good size portions and steaks just melt in the mouth. Overall very impressed and will visit again. Drinks a little pricey but well worth the extra cost as it's such a nice restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlindajen2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwyran, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful restuarant with open kitchen and food to match!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked on-line using a code for a Sunday special 50% off food deal for the month of November. You need to be savvy to get the best deals as it can work out expensive if you just walk in for a meal. We ordered some excellent black and green olives whilst we perused the menu. My wife ordered the scallops for starters and I had the soup which were both very good. Service was attentive. For mains we both ordered the meat filled calzone. My wife enjoyed watching the chef prepare the fresh dough and filling and placing into the pizza oven using a long handled pizza shovel. The dish looked superb when it arrived and was very tasty. My wife only had a dry wine spritzer which she enjoyed and made the way she asked for it - no ice and with soda water. I only drank tap water as I was driving and I begrudge paying for overpriced bottled water! The total bill was around £33 which was good value for the whole experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pathwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Monday £5 Pasta Deal”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Me and my friends regularly visit Convivio as the Monday deal is brilliant. I would highly recommend the spagetti scoglio as the amount of fish you get is great. The staff are very welcoming and even though the drinks are quite expensive I think all in all it's worth it as the food is yummy! Katie

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketzy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Convivio Chester also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Convivio Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing