We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXTREMELY ENJOYABLE RESTAURANT”

The Shanghai Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXTREMELY ENJOYABLE RESTAURANT”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We recently had dinner at this Chinese Restaurant. The food was not only delicious,
but piping hot, as too were the plates. (my pet hate, hot food on cold plates!).This was our
first visit, as we were only in Chester a couple of days. The staff were very welcoming,
and service very speedy.

For anyone who enjoys tasty Chinese food and excellent service we would recommend
you try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 222Madonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    79
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Agree..........one of the best”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I love chinese food and we were not disappointed with The Shanghai. The staff were attentive, polite and the food was positively to die for.
When we attempted to book early saturday evening, we were told that they were fully booked that night, however they could squeeze us in if we waited til 9pm. Oh what a joy that was the time we wanted anyway.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferandane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Ate here on the the spur of the moment, and we were not disappointed. Lovely meal and the staff were friendly, the salt and pepper bean curd was amazing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank haggibasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese restaurants in the UK if not THE!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to this restaurant for years and the food quality, taste, service, atmosphere is second to none. Not had sea bass as good as the ginger and spring onion one they serve there even in a seafood restaurant. Waiters and waitresses provide the best friendly service. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced and below average”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat at this restaurant as it was close to our b&b in chester. We had a starter each and a main course with rice each, together with a bottle of cider and a soft drink. The food was not very nice and my partner commented that the rice was so clumpy and bland it was almost inedible. The bill was just under £60.00!! We were absolutely gobsmacked! We will certainly not go there again if and when we visit chester again and would definitely not recommend this place.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mhe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Shanghai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing