We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but pricy”

The Shanghai Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 558 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, but pricy”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went with our children and a group of friends. We ordered a banquet (there were 7 adults and 3 children, the staff were flexible and let us order the starter platter for 10 people but mains for 8, which was plenty). The food was fresh and tasty. Service was a little slow as the restaurant was busy, but the staff apologised for this, and it actually suited us as we didn't feel rushed and had lots of conversation to catch up on. The bill was higher than I was expecting though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetfannyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    80
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nakashamada”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived in Chester late afternoon and the lady at the guest house recommended the Shanghai which was about 300 yards away. We had not booked a table, but upon entering the waiter or No.1 bod did everything he could to accommodate us as long as we could be away within an hour. No problem! They even went out of their way for one of our 4 to have something to eat - he is a bit old and likes old fashioned food - they served him chips and egg and he was pleased as punch. mY meal was incredible - lamb with chillis - it's the hottest and tastiest Chinese I have ever had. If I go back to Chester and have time for a meal, I will make sure that I book a table at this excellent restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We eat out regularly and like Chinese food. This place was recommended by a local. The service was very good. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was okay. No better and no worse than you would find in a hundred Chinese restaurants. The prices are very heavy for food of this type. We paid £60 for a meal that you would expect to pay £35-£40 for. In itself not terrible but it takes the joy out of the evening when you feel that you are being ripped off.
The joy was definitely sucked out of the evening for me when I was given a cup of poor quality instant black coffee to finish my meal.
There are many better restaurants in Chester. Avoid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy-Til-Miffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautifully cooked Chinese food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited Shanghai after our visit to Chester zoo yesterday.

The saying never judge a book by its covet most definitely springs to mind. From the outside it might not appear to be anything but from the inside it is beautiful. Very simple but effectively decorated keeping the Chinese feel which is always nice to see.

There were 9 of us and were seated promptly after waiting in the bar area and giving our drinks order.

We eat out at Chinese restaurants a lot and this one was one of the more expensive ones so we decided to opt for one of the banquet choices as this worked out better value for money at £25 pp. (Most main meals were around £10).
We have no issue spending a lot on food..it is something we do quite regularly because as a family with chefs in we do like to eat out to sample others cooking, but as there were so many of us it seemed to make more sense.

The food was served without having to wait a long length of time which is always good and the staff were very friendly and nice..again always a bonus.

Most importantly the food was beautiful and cooked to perfection. We regularly dine at what we consider to be one of the top Chineses in the country so are quite expectant when it comes to other Chineses. This one did not disappoint.
Thank you for providing us with a lovely family meal out.. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent excellent service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent restaurant in a prime location ! We visited on a Thursday evening and joined other diners and experienced excellent food served by very attentive staff ! Thank you

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank UltimateElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Shanghai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing