We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful dining”
Review of Joseph Benjamin

Joseph Benjamin
Reserve with OpenTable
Joseph Benjamin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful dining”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went to Portas, the Tapas bar next door last time we were in Chester and liked the look of this place. We were not disappointed. Food & drink were both great and a meal for two , 2 courses and wine came to less than £90.
Delicious food, good service- highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLake38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    158
    38
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food heaven xxx”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This food was probably the tastiest food I've ever eaten... Need I say more? Go to this place for a special occasion and to eat amazing food. I will definitely be returning. 10/10.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 637Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faultless dining where the food does the talking.”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited JB today for Mum's birthday lunch and it was fantastic. It's not the first time we've been but it was so good I felt the need to write a review. It is worth mentioning the understated interior and excellent service (attentive but informal and not overbearing) but the food was the star and rightly so. There were 8 of us and we all ordered something different so we sampled most of the main courses on the menu and they were all fantastic (clean plates all round!). I have to give a special mention to the Laska which was outstanding. Having recently switched to a vegetarian diet, it's sometimes not very exciting eating out so when I saw this on the menu I was pleasantly surprised and it didn't disappoint, the flavours were divine. Also worth a mention was the crab and egg mayonnaise starter which was delicious and could have been devoured numerous times over. To be fair you are pretty safe with whatever you order as the food is consistently excellent. We didn't get as far as dessert today but from previous experience the brownie is one of the best I've ever had (and
I've had a few!!).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 68oaklea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spot on every time”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Joseph Benjamin has been brilliant every time I've been (6 or 7 times now). Locally sourced, homemade food which is delicious and presented with finesse.
Service is very professional and friendly, and atmosphere is homely and intimate.
Great value when compared with the quality and prices of other restaurants. Can't fault it, without doubt one of Chester's real gems.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Happy all round”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We like this place very much.

Such nice, friendly people with faultless service. They offered a jug of water at the table - we didn't have to ask. Good ambience, a very interesting menu with high quality food and reasonably priced wines. The bistro has a pleasant buzz to it, intimate while still busy. The hosts flit unobtrusively between the tables.

Our meal was beautifully presented, simple, yet tasty, served warm in good quantities. We dined on jumbo garlic prawns and tender belly pork or sliced succulent lamb. Superb!

Couldn't fault any of it so we will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveyWaveyWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph Benjamin also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Joseph Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing