We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Joseph Benjamin

Joseph Benjamin
Reserve with OpenTable
Joseph Benjamin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
cocosm
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is the second time that I have visited in that last 2 months for Sunday lunch. They have really good quality fresh food, great portions, and very good service. I went with my husband and very picky 10 year old who really enjoyed her food both times. we had the slow roast brisket with all the trimmings, and my husband had the homemade shepherds pie which was sublime.
I dont want to repeat the word sublime again but will have to because that is what the pud of choc and banana bread and butter pudding with vanilla crream and a brandy snap was, one of the best puds I have ever had in a restaurant. The service is very pleasant and relaxed.
We will definately visit again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    158
    38
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We have been here many times and always find this restaurant one of the best in the area. The staff are always very welcoming and the atmosphere pleasant. As for the food this is always excellent particularly the Sunday lunch.

Helpful?
Thank oldboatman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Excellent food and drink, service was friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will be going back for more!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good quality and often locally sourced menu”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Although not one of the cheaper places to eat in town, you are assured a really good quality meal here. If you have special dietary requirements they will be able to accommodate you given advance notice. I like the way they source high quality ingredients locally which produce delicious meals.

Shame they are not open on Sundays or Mondays

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have had breakfast, coffee, lunch, and evening meals here since they have opened. The service is always excellent, the food, mostly locally sourced, is always well cooked, to your liking. It is our first choice of restaurant whether dining as a couple or with friends. We recommend Joesph Benjamin to all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph Benjamin also viewed

 

Been to Joseph Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing