We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, not great”
Review of Joseph Benjamin

Joseph Benjamin
Reserve with OpenTable
Joseph Benjamin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brasilia, Df
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice relaxed atmosphere and very good service. Food generally good though not all that special. Worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    156
    38
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best in Chester”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is just great. Brilliant food using local ingredients and always with invention. Great staff and all round the best quality food in Chester

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warmth, refuge and good food on a rainy day in Chester”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

At the Tourist Information center in Chester I asked them to recommend a nearby place for lunch. The young man asked what I wanted. "Warmth!" I replied, for it had been a rainy, blowy, cold day. He suggested Joseph Benjamin's, and I and two friends went there for lunch. The beer was great (try the Eastgate ale!) and the food was marvelous. I had a bowl of soup -- celeriac and watercress -- which came with crusty bread and butter. Then I had the started sized plate of grilled prawns. They were delicious, with a dipping sauce that was a bit spicy. My friends had sandwiches and they looked good, also. Too bad none of us had room for desert!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brodwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

A quick look on trip advisor before setting off and decided to give this restaurant a go.lovely welcome, deli platter to share as a starter was lovely, especially as everything on the platter was described in such detail. Chicken and pesto ciabatta was nice, the pork and apple sandwich was a little lame considering everything else. Nice experience,will definitely go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ValO102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxed setting”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a combined delicatessen/restaurant right next to the Roman city wall. We arrived in Chester late Friday afternoon and asked for a reservation the same evening. The restaurant was fully booked but we were offered a table in the shop area. This turned out to quite all right, even when guests started pouring in. The atmosphere is relaxed and it doesn't make much difference if you are indside or outside the actual restaurant area. We had just one main course (calf's liver, perfectly cooked and nicely served) and shared a bottle of the very good house red. The staff was welcoming and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aagedrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph Benjamin also viewed

 

Been to Joseph Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing