We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Summer Palace

Summer Palace
Ranked #288 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memories”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

When our daughter was at University here in Chester we would come here the quality of food was just as good and prices not much different

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AprilIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    9
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chester UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“mediocre food and very slow service”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

party of 4 booked ...getogether with friends. The restaurant was their suggestion. Service was incredibly slow ...we were there for 3 1/4 hours. Plates were brought feeling faintly warm but by the time the food arrived they were stone cold...as was the food (apart from sizzling platter but that soon cooled off. Beef was rubbery ) disapponnting all round ...no wish to go back ...and the prices were London Prices ...but grateful no automatic service charge added !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heyjudechesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Been to Summer Palace about three times now; no complaints at all!

Delicious food, nice atmosphere and friendly, accommodating staff.

They also offer a "restaurant quality takeaway service", which seems to be very popular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhevix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Chester - Book a table now!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent food, quality service and very reasonably priced. We have eaten here many times and ordered the takeaway more times than I can remember. Each time we cannot fault it - the food is superb!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrculbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant food and service! An unassuming gem, don't overlook it!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a party of 10, we visited the Summer Palce just after Christmas. In fact we come together here every year and we are never disappointed!

The staff are warm, welcoming and friendly and the service quick and efficient. The food -well it is delicious! The duck pancakes and plum sauce, the salt and pepper spare ribs, the hot and sour soup the crispy chicken (A+++++) and all the sizzling dishes! There are too many excellent dishes to mention, suffice to say that it is all high quality.
As per usual, we ordered a ridiculous amount of starters which we shared (the round tables are really good for large parties) and then our individual main courses (with a variety of rice or noodles).

The staff can't do enough for you and as we asked for dry chillies, soya sauce, chilli oil etc etc they happily obliged. The drinks menu has spirits, liqueurs, Tiger beer and good but inexpensive wines on it, what more do you need?
This is a unassuming little gem of a restaurant right in the centre of Chester and I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saffy923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Palace also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing