We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location and very helpful owner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Commonhall Apartments
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great central location and very helpful owner”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at The Barlows over New Year. Apartment is in a brilliant location, great shops nearby. Unloading the car to the 2nd floor apartment can be rather interesting if you pack too much stuff like we did (well, it was New Year!). Also, if you can't sort parking with Roslyn, you can play car parking shuffle on the parking spaces around the area or pay £12 a day at the local NCP. Roslyn had a twinkling Christmas tree on when we arrived, with a delicious tin of chocs under the tree for us - thank you! Everything was great in the apartment. We had a difficult time with the internet but I know Roslyn was aghast at this and was on the case to call in the engineer immediately. We also dropped a set of keys down the back of the sofa which the house cleaner found and returned to us, recorded delivery, for free - we were very grateful for this. All in all, we just loved coming out of our front door and town being RIGHT there! It's a great, warm, compact place to stay in Chester, with tin foil, tea, coffee, washing up liquid etc already there - plus a pint of milk in the fridge! We would definitely return. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed for 2 nights for our girly weekend away.
The apartment was perfect. 2 big double bedrooms, with towels, tea, coffee, sugar and milk provided. Along with washing up liquid, cloths etc.
all these little things helped to make a brilliant weekend.
Roslyn was really helpful prior to our visit regarding parking, arrival procedure etc.

The apartment is a perfect location- bang in the middle of shops, bars and restaurants.
The only downside is lack of parking - but that's to be expected in the city centre.

The apartment had a lovely lounge and kitchen and was spacious enough for 4 girls all weekend!

Would definitely stay again and recommend

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennytdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Four of us stayed in this beautiful apartment for two nights in Chester. The apartment was lovely, the owners were very accommodating to meet our various arrival time changes and the location is simply outstanding.

I would highly recommend staying at Commonhall Apartments whenever you want to be in the middle of the action in Chester.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen_Adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This apartment was the perfect place for a girly weekend away. We were right in the centre of town and had all the comforts of being at home. Well presented apartment, with towels, tea, coffee and milk all provided for when we got there. Would definitely book here again. Town, shops, restaurants and bars are all located just outside our door.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RegularTravel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the end of August.
Brilliant location and for a good price for what you get :)
We stayed in the attic apartment, really good size and very comfortable bed!
It is literally 10 step to the center and shops of Chester.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My friends and I had our annual stay in chester for the races - we stayed in these apartments last year - in The Rows - this year we stayed in No. 3 Barlows - this was just as beautifully decorated and laid out. Very homely with nice touches of scatter cushions and plenty of mirrors. Ideal for ladies going to the races! Well equipped kitchen and perfect central location. Due to the opening of a tesco express within walking distance we were able to pick up all the food we needed once we had arrived. We have already decided to book this again in 2014!

Room Tip: Beautiful apartments The Rows up one flight of stairs - No.3 Barlow's up two flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K11MYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife, daughter and I were looking for a couple of days in chester (zoo/blue planet), and as our little girl is only 3 we didn't really want a hotel room. This place was ideal for what we wanted, and more!

It's perfectly located; surrounded by shops, cafes and restaurants, even the car parking that they offer for a small charge is only about 50 meters from the entrance.

Once in the apartment it's very smart and really well done out, both bedrooms were good size and beds very comfortable. The sitting room was big enough and very homely yet modern in terms of decor, kitchen and TV/sound system etc...

Roslyn, the lady whom I spoke with when booking, was extremely helpful. Clear and intuitive instructions and in depth directions from the start and always replied to me promptly.

Because of her helpfulness, because of how nice the apartment was and because of its excellent location... I can't see why I would look anywhere else to stay in chester if/when we go there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commonhall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonhall Apartments

Property: Commonhall Apartments
Address: Commonhall Apartments 2 Commonhall Street | Markethill, Chester CH1 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique 4* luxury 1&2 bed apartments in the heart of Chester Old City within the walls. Your opportunity to stay in a recently restored 400 yr old building retaining all the character and charm with luxuries for modern living. Relax and look out the window to unique views down over the Famous Rows. Perfect location for city weekend break, holiday or business, steps away from shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. WiFi internet access. Minimum stay 2 nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing