We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Evening!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fattoria

La Fattoria
Ranked #20 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
north wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fab Evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our 1st time at La Fattoria and it won't be long before we return. It was our wedding anniversary and we thought we would try this restaurant after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. The staff are really friendly and they made us feel really welcome. We arrived at 9.30pm on a Saturday evening and the place was jumping. There were lots of hen parties and birthday groups and every now and again the lights would dim down and the staff would bring out a birthday dessert complete with candle and Cliff Richard singing 'Congratulations!' and present it to the birthday boy/girl. The food was great. We both ordered calamari starters, I had squid in a tomato sauce with the addition of toast and my husband had the deep fried squid. Both were delicious. For mains I ordered the lasagne and my husband had a pizza. The lasagne was tasty but a little runny with too much sauce for my liking but the pizza was fabulous. The house red wine was good too. We thought with the place being so busy we would have to wait a long time to be served but we were wrong - the staff were attentive and we weren't left waiting long. We will be returning for my birthday and I can't wait!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missy3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,032
    346
    83
    38
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a great authentic Italian restaurant, it has a warm and friendly atmosphere and the food is always of a high standard. The calves liver is to die for and the pizza and pasta dishes are just as good.
If you want authentic Italian food and a good atmosphere this is one of Chester's little gems and well worth a visit.

I believe they are soon to open a sister restaurant in Lytham St Annes which is even closer for us so we are waiting with anticipation!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 877JasonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“we were the oldest in the place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This very lively Italian is very popular with the young people of Chester and the atmosphere on a busy Friday was electric. We had a thoroughly enjoyable meal washed down with an excellent and very reasonable house red. Staff both Male and Female were very friendly without going ott.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HHHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is great. Busy all the time, which is always a good sign and the unpretentious food is excellent (as well as being very, very reasonable). For me, there is no aspect of the restaurant that can be faulted to be honest. I've been there to eat in a large group, as a couple and with young children and every time I've come away impressed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gdm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top restaurant for a group celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I went to La Fattoria last night to celebrate a colleagues birthday with 23 women and it was wonderful. The atmosphere was busy, exciting and fun. The staff were very attentive and quick to serve. I can't fault the food and can recommend the goats cheese starter and mushroom risotto for mains. It was such a fun place to eat and the staff came out with a suprise birthday pudding for our birthday girl and we all sang happy birthday. Don't be put off by the bus stop outside, it's such a lovely authentic restaurant with Italian staff and you can even see the pizza's being made . You must go it's highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillyblossomtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fattoria also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to La Fattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing