We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of La Fattoria

La Fattoria
Ranked #19 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Great food, great atmosphere, really, really busy, and the service was some of the best we've had anywhere.
Had a great evening and it's definitely somewhere all of us would return to and recommend without hesitation. Food was very good and also good value.
One point to note - if it's your birthday and you've let the staff know, just brace yourself for the celebrations. If you're not fond of the spotlight, maybe keep it quiet and observe. Otherwise, enjoy.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TadFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,103
    361
    87
    42
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had heard so many good reviews and were most dissapointed.Over priced starters,main course average.
We were asked for our order by 5 different staff ,hardly had tine to look at the menu
Would not rush back..

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthiebabeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Jolly Good!”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Great authentic family Italian in the heart of Chester. Great for a family meal or a great night out, staff always friendly and service is great.

It's like going home!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JollyFamilyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but very busy!”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stumbled across this place on our first visit to Chester as we had a ghost walk booked in an hour and a half's time and needed to eat! I pretty much only eat Italian so when we say this, the menu in the window looked reasonable and the place looked quite busy from the outside, we thought we'd give it a try.
What an experience! We were told it'd be an hour's wait but when we explained about the ghost walk they split a table for four into two tables for two to accomodate for us. Service was extremely prompt and seemed so genuinely Italian! They just shouted to each other across the restaurant with orders and the waiters and waitresses were constantly moving, constantly on alert to see who needed service. Their enthusiasm and passion was an experience - as is if there is a birthday when you're there!
The restaurant itself is designed to look like an Italian street, and one of the walls is covered with money from all over the world, very interesting surroundings. Food was great, big portions and yummy! When we both ordered coconut ice cream for desert, they only had one left and were soooo apologetic but gave us two spoons so we could share lol.
Price was very decent, two starters, two mains, one desert, a glass of wine, a bottle of Peroni and a glass of Diet Coke - £45. I couldn't finish my main and they boxed it up, no problem.
It was only as we were in the middle of eating I looked up Trip Advisor for reviews of the place as it seemed so busy, and saw how popular it is! Agree that it is not a romantic setting and is very noisy, but definately an experience!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThinkPinkLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

From the reviews on Tripadvisor I'd put this restaurant on my list of reccomended places to eat while we were visiting Chester. We arrived after the races at approximately 8pm. There was quite a large queue, but after we had finished reading the menu that was outside, the queue had gone so we went in and was seated straight away.

It is a lovely little restaurant, which I prefer to big restaurant chains. The food was lovely. The only small gipe was there was no draught beer - just Peroni in bottles.

I would certainly reccomend.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seabie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fattoria also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to La Fattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing