We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bollicini

Bollicini
Ranked #92 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $2 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford - UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I were visiting Chester for a few days and fancied a fish meal on one of the evenings. We looked at a couple of menu boards at various establishments and found this place by chance as it's located down a small passageway off Northgate Street. There was a reasonable choice on the menu, the staff greeting was very friendly so in we went. After a very tasty and generous starter, my wife had the Monk fish cooked in a wine sauce and I had a terrific salmon steak with crab meat, both meals with a nice selection of vegetables. Lovely bottle of wine, desert and coffee and reasonable prices. We were very pleased.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    120
    50
    34
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tuscan Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Was only in Chester for a one night stay and wanted to find something special. Came across this restaurant which was located down a vennel but an A frame board highlighted the fact that Tuesdays were Tuscan night - fab two course meal with bottle of wine included - delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I saw a review before writing mine today, some people really do not have any common sense... a lunch offer is for lunch, usually for some restaurants, lunch is till 3 PM, so, complain because you arrive after that time... on my opinion is very silly!!! Nonetheless I would like to leave my point of view of this little gem hidden away from the Centre.

Went to Bollicini with a couple of friends yesterday at lunch, around 2 PM. We found that the food served it was above expectations (considering the price they offered), the pasta was cooked to perfection and the sauce was very tasty, the garlic bread was perfect to scoop the sauce left. The service was very prompt and friendly, all the staff was smiling and we can`t wait to go back again and try the a la carte menu. I would recommend to all my friends and family.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is one of our lunchtime favourites. The lunchtime offer of two courses and glass of wine for under £10 per person is superb. Everything about this restaurants is lovely and we have never left without feeling well fed and happy

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam4377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tricky way of attracting customers ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

A very tricky way of attracting customers: sign on the road advertising a certain price for the food but not the case once you want to order the food. Asked the question just to be told by the manager (I presume) that the advert board was left there by mistake and that the priced advertised is only until 16:00 ... very convenient considering that we got there 16:05 (picture attached was taken 16:12 after the discussion with the "manager").
Overall OK (OK service and food) but there are a lot better places in Chester offering similar services

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoratiuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollicini also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Bollicini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing